We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
465Viv123
Sydney, Australia

A Wonderful Choice

Review of Tonic Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Dec 2017
I can't recommend Tonic highly enough. The accommodation is outstanding! The views exquisite. The breakfasts are delicious, generous & varied. The hosts go well beyond the call of duty & are lovely. Their suggestions were excellent. The pool is a good length for swimming laps. An added bonus is that Tonic is dog friendly! The owners also have a very happy & friendly spoodle called Brian. We will definitely be back & can highly recommend Tonic for a very comfortable stay.
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₹21,449
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₹21,443
  • Hotels.com
    ₹21,420
  • Priceline
9.1 km from Tonic Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹9,373
  • Expedia.com
    ₹12,256
  • Agoda.com
    ₹8,037
  • Priceline
9.8 km from Tonic Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Guest room
₹24,642
  • Expedia.com
    ₹12,870
  • Tripadvisor
    ₹12,870
  • Priceline
9.4 km from Tonic Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Gardens
₹10,016
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
7.8 km from Tonic Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Lovedale
₹18,410
₹15,250
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹18,410
  • Trip.com
  • Hotels.com
    ₹16,644
9.3 km from Tonic Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Harrigan's Hunter Valley
₹8,140
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
8.6 km from Tonic Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Arrival Drive
₹12,037
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    ₹11,369
  • Priceline
    ₹11,369
  • Expedia.com
    ₹12,031
10.5 km from Tonic Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹12,644
  • Algotels
3.9 km from Tonic Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge/Kitchenette
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    ₹12,821
  • Expedia.com
    ₹14,501
5.3 km from Tonic Hotel
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹9,059
  • Algotels
10.3 km from Tonic Hotel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pokolbin
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
130
22
7
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
130
22
7
10
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

On arrival to Tonic you have an access code that you put into a keypad door there is no nobody on site we never met the owners it was just my husband and and one other couple on the whole property we saw for 5minute's. Breakfast is included each day a magical fairy brings it while you are not there first day was fruit granola jams honeys breads banana breads coffee milk juice second day was croissants ham cheese all included in the price I only have 2 cons about this place number 1 is there is no shower screen before gets extremely wet and not enough towels are provided to clean up the water but on request Towels left magically when we came back from our day out at the moment second issue is the fridge is so close to the door that everytime you open the fridge it's slams into the door. The kitchen area in your room is extremely small and hard to have food but if you want to walk up to Main area there is a main house kind of thing that has a full lounge room for kitchen DVDs TV fireplace tables chairs etc but we did not feel the need to use those facilities are quite comfortable in our room. do not miss the sunsets they are breathtaking views wifi and Internet and TV reception is exceptional. I think a booklet in room on how everything works is truly needed like a welcome book when you go to a hotel just so you know what's what and what you are and not allowed to use. This is not a hotel more like a self-contained Retreat where you can just unwind and reconnect. Will definitely be back one day we had room 7 it was awesome so quite all u can hear is birds and trees. There is an onsite pool and we did not use as weather was not hot enough.10 minutes from Hunter. Your body has no choice but to relax in this environment we have never experienced something like this and we have gone away rooms are spacious clean and have all that you need except for a lounge in the room which would have been nice but bed was extremely comfortable and we use this as a lounge verandah is a wide and spacious again tiny table on verandah would you better with a bigger table so you could fit all your food on it when you're eating dinner / lunch We will definitely come back to this location should we come back to the hunter this is not a child friendly place I do not recommend children here I think it is intended for adults to come and just unwind.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MonikaG344
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Arrived at Tonic for my birthday weekend and were blown away! Very quiet, lovely view and the breakfasts were amazing!!
Room attended to everyday and has that hotel vibe in a very rural location.
Thankyou for our stay Ian!

Room tip: Room 1 was awesome, right in front of the lake
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyCush
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

The location is great. I love the check in system. The rooms are minimalist which I like, but a person would like to sit on a comfortable chair. There was one in the room leaving number 2 perched on the end of the bed. Breakfast being granola, yogurt and fresh fruit was nice, the second day we were provided croissants with ham and cheese. A choice slip, left in the room would alleviate this problem as I do not eat Pork products. The seating on the verandah is also decidedly uncomfortable. As there is no compendium, you have no idea wether something is to be paid for or not. Now the bathroom, like the concept, but it does not quite work. Water goes everywhere rendering the bathmat useless, I would hate to be using an electrical appliance after a shower. Also if you do send an text message to the owner, do not expect a reply. I do like the concept but little details make for a better stay. I think for the money spent it could be done better.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank frankn948
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2017

My husband and I recently stayed at Tonic to celebrate our anniversary and we couldn´t have chosen a better place to celebrate this special day. The hotel has a perfect location, it is in the middle of a very tranquil area. Rooms are very spacious and clean, they have a kitchen with everything you need. The hotel leaves breakfast in the fridge of the room, so you don´t even have to go out for breakfast (which was absolutely delicious and enough for both of us...the granola was a revelation!).Rooms also have a beautiful view to the lake and we really enjoyed having our breakfast in the balcony, . We definitely highly recommend it.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jotica21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2017

A last minute booking found us at Tonic Hotel. What a great little find. Our accomodation was immaculate, very well equipped & fully self contained. Very generous & delicious continental breakfast provided for the duration of our stay. Very cosy with gas log fire as well as air conditioning. Beatiful open outlook with lovely decking overlooking large pond with an abundance of wildlife & views to the mountains. Fantastic location with easy access to restaurants & wineries. Cannot fault this hotel & very much looking forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews