We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marsh Estate - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
It's all about the wine.

We have been to this cellar door many times over many years. It is not glamorous nor do we take... read more

Reviewed 16 September 2016
Lexus51
,
Sydney, Australia
Marsh Estate - a must on any Hunter visit

Andrew Marsh (winemaker) has a great passion for wine and life itself. His friendly smile and... read more

Reviewed 13 September 2015
Farrar0109
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Read all 14 reviews
  
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
11
1
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
1
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Up a long curved gravel driveway. The lights were off and no-one was home at 11am when we visited - and it should have been attended.
We were advised by the winery next door that it was being sold so perhaps that explains it? I suggest you call ahead to check if you wish to visit.
1922oos

Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We have been to this cellar door many times over many years. It is not glamorous nor do we take overseas guests here but nonetheless it is one of our favourites. The reason is simply the wine which is fabulous regardless of whatever point rating it gets from whomever - however that is usually high as well.
We appreciated our morning visit and Andrew Marsh came up from the fields in his gumboots to attend to us. Andrew is a great host and has forgotten more about wine than I or most people ever knew.
Just be advised that the minimum purchase is a dozen......but long after the price is forgotten, you will still be enjoying the quality.......with apologies to Mr Gucci.

Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

Andrew Marsh (winemaker) has a great passion for wine and life itself. His friendly smile and great knowledge of the Hunter region is delightful and I highly recommend you visit. You can taste the passion in every drop. A little gem amongst the vines.

1  Thank Farrar0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

We stopped at Marsh to taste a couple of wines while in the Hunter Valley and it was a great experience! Our host was friendly, knowledgable and gave us some good local tips. The wines wee great and we picked up a nice Chardonnay.

Say hi to Spook the dog when you stop by.

Thank JayHi96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Have been twice the 1st brought a dozen mixed wines. Their Champagne is the best Champagne i have had. The service & history of the family owned winery was great.

Thank vncom89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2015

I have known and loved Marsh Estate ever since Peter Marsh bought the place back in the 70's. One thing you want out of a wine tasting in the Hunter is to taste the 'terroir' in the wines.Peter, and now his son, Marshy, have always been able to extract the subtleties of the earth and express that in the wines. The Holly's Block Semillon is an outstanding example of the variety, right up there with the likes of Tyrrells VAT 1 - and it ages beautifully. the Cremant sparkling is one of the best examples of sparkling wine outside of France - and I drink Dom Perignon. The Shiraz is also excellent, especially the Sinclair, but I would never refuse a glass of VAT S or VAT R.
Always friendly, always willing to pass on their knowledge and love of Hunter wines.
A must for wine lovers who want to taste the true essence of the Hunter!

Thank Paul Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2014

The wine tasting highlight of our three day adventure in the Hunter Valley was our visit to Marsh Estate on Saturday morning. Andrew Marsh, the winemaker, was on hand to both educate and entertain as our group of 8 tasted his delightful wines. His wines are unique in many ways and this winery is well worth a visit to understand and experience 'terroir' in the Hunter. Thanks Andrew!

Thank La-di-da-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Marsh Estate will now forever in my mind be the winery with the worst customer service of any wine region in Australia.

I have been to hundreds of wineries across the country but have never had an experience like this one. We parked up and went to the tasting room, (knowing you can only purchase a dozen bottles per transaction) we were rudely greeted by a badly dressed hipster with an attitude problem. Before we even sat down we were asked very rudely "are you even going to buy a dozen wines today?". Our reply was "Well that depends on the quality of the wine and whether it is to our liking". Apparently that was not good enough and we were informed the tasting would be pointless in his eyes.

So apparently you have to commit to an expensive purchase of 12 bottles well before you even are allowed sit down and taste the local wines. We promptly left and spent our money at better establishments.

Truly an unpleasant experience.

Thank OceanGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Spent the weekend at Marsh estate with 7 girls for my Hen's weekend. Spent the Friday afternoon sitting outside eating wine and cheese staring at the mountains at sunset and then indoors where the fireplace was all set up ready to go!

PROS
Beds were amazing! Soft and comfortable
Great fire place
Quiet secure location
Beautiful house and kitchen

CONS
Not enough hot water for all 7ppl to shower each morning
Came home to find an army of bull ants in the lower bathroom/toilet
No laundry/washing machine
People were being shown around the property and peering into the kitchen as we were getting ready to leave.....awkward....

Over all it was a great place to stay for such a large number of guests.

Thank Kateyjoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

By far the best winery in the hunter , family run business , the best wines you may ever experience , friendly staff , beautiful location , would fully recommend .

Thank sull1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews