We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Tamworth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have stayed at the Mercure Resort at the Hunter Valley Gardens a number of times - the restaurant is great value as well. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    356
    148
    37
    26
See reviews for
184
462
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Mercure hotel at Hunter valley is really good. It has a nice and classic reception hall, you can read book (free in the cabinet) and spend the whole day there. It has a unique and antique public toilet, very very clean. The room is very big. You can have your breakfast at the yard, enjoy the fresh air, nice plant. It has a nice garden also. You can walk to a big garden behind of the hotel if you don't have car. The garden is one of the biggest garden( need to pay entrance fee). The surrounding is convenient, not too far by walking distance about 10 to 15mins has a wine, coffee & restaurant. One Irish restaurant nearby is very good but need to drive, unless you don't mind to walk 20mins. The staff also friendly and good service. I requested a new kettle because the existing one is rusty, the staff change a new one within 3 mins. I believe you guy will like it too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I came over for 1 night, during a concert event. Great location handy to the Tempus Two Vineyard (where the concert was). So from this aspect, it was great. Sadly the rooms are pretty dated and tired; certainly not worth $400 AUD per night. It is more like a motelly type property. However it was clean and tidy. I had no lights in my bathroom at all and the reception chap tried to replace the bulbs but this still didn't work. I ended up having to put on my makeup outside. The lounge light was also not working - no offer of a free breakie or any compensation which for a 4.5 star hotel isn't what I would expect. Would I stay here again?. Only if I was wanting to attend a concert otherwise no.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylor12auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Thankyou to all the staff!! So warm and welcoming with a great knowledge of the area. Fantastic location and a yummy buffet breaky!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at The Mercure because of the fantastic location in the Hunter Valley - very close to a couple of great bars and restaurants. The service exceeded our expectations, with the friendly girls at the front desk and the beautiful clean rooms. My favourite touch was the Apple iPod dock in the rooms! Thankyou to the staff here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanyPatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
4.0 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
9.2 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
234 reviews
4.4 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
6.3 km away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Property: Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Address: Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,732 - ₹ 19,025
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing