We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Anne J
Sydney, Australia

Relaxing and luxury

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Aug 2020
Beautiful property, very relaxing. Staff are welcoming and professional. Love the open fire and the rooms are very large. Dinner in Botanica was amazing. Highly recommend for a peaceful and relaxing stay in the Hunter.
Date of stay: August 2020
Room Tip: All rooms have the same view
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₹9,315
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₹7,987
  • Expedia.com
    ₹12,180
3.5 km from Spicers Vineyards Estate
Free parking
Pool
₹16,620
₹14,396
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₹16,608
  • Hotels.com
    ₹16,620
  • Priceline
7.6 km from Spicers Vineyards Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge/Kitchenette
₹12,402
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₹14,411
  • Agoda.com
    ₹10,347
  • Priceline
7.5 km from Spicers Vineyards Estate
Free parking
₹10,400
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₹7,954
  • Expedia.com
    ₹10,416
3.7 km from Spicers Vineyards Estate
Free parking
Pool
₹21,278
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₹21,311
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    ₹21,289
9.4 km from Spicers Vineyards Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovedale
₹18,307
₹15,128
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹18,307
  • Trip.com
  • Priceline
8.9 km from Spicers Vineyards Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
₹24,445
  • Tripadvisor
    ₹12,798
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    ₹12,798
10.1 km from Spicers Vineyards Estate
Free parking
Pool
Gardens
₹9,960
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    ₹9,950
  • Tripadvisor
    ₹9,960
  • Priceline
9.2 km from Spicers Vineyards Estate
Free parking
Pool
Harrigan's Hunter Valley
₹8,500
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₹8,089
  • Agoda.com
    ₹6,383
  • Priceline
8.7 km from Spicers Vineyards Estate
Free parking
Pool
Arrival Drive
₹12,474
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    ₹12,445
  • Tripadvisor
    ₹12,464
  • Priceline
13.1 km from Spicers Vineyards Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pokolbin
Reviews (1,145)
Filter reviews
1,145 results
Traveller rating
991
107
25
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
991
107
25
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open fireplace on site restaurant fantastic stay beautiful property botanica spa luxury kangaroos wine fires escape region tranquil
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 1,145 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2020 via mobile

This was our third trip to Spicers. It never fails to impress. It has a unique quality that you will not find anywhere else. From kangaroos in the vineyards to Crackle the resident pig who is such a cutie. The staff at Spicers are absolutely brilliant, especially Sara who looked after us and our guests every time we have visited. We are always greeted with such hospitality and warmth. The food and wine are of a very high standard. Rooms are excellent, again a very high standard. I would recommend coming here as an introduction to the Hunter Valley Region.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank NigelH1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2020

First, regardless of our experience, it stands that this is NOT a five star boutique retreat. There is no room service, there is no complimentary water, there is no welcome pack, there is nothing luxurious or particularly special about this place. Anything available, is so at an exorbitant price. Further, presumably because of COVID19, the lunch service is currently not available. However, this was never made known before arrival. And, given this was part of the reason we booked, thinking we could get lunch on site; that was very poor form.

We were booked in for two nights in a King Spa Suite, but the room they offered was not anything like those that they advertise extensively — the French door suites on the ground floor. No, we were expected to stay in a room, upstairs, that looked like a converted office space with a thin veneer door to boot. After explaining to the Assistant Manager specific personal reasons as to why this was not satisfactory, we were moved to a ground floor room— but it was made clear this was for one night only. The next day, we were offered the opportunity to move, again, but this just misses the point of what our two night stay was meant to be: a relaxing, stress free break.

The room we were given, as with the rest of the resort, was tired, worn and shabby looking: the lounge and carpet were heavily stained, the fire place had paint peeling off, the bathroom was outdated, the aircon broken, etc. The bed was a challenge and anyone taller than 6ft will find it uncomfortable! And, as another reviewer has commented; the walls are so thin there is very little privacy afforded.

On checkout there was no overture to compensate for the inconvenience to us, and certainly not to refund the lost night. And, at the time, we didn't need the added stress of arguing a clearly principled matter. It was made plain to us we were not valued as customers. Consequently, it is highly unlikely we will ever recommend or choose to stay at any Spicers property, again.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank theLostGeneration
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2020

Perfect place to relax and unwind. The spa suite was amazing and the real log fire is perfect for the cold winter months. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The Spa was great. Staff were helpful and friendly and the restaurant was great for breakfast and dinner.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ALexander_j32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2020

Spent a night in one of the spa suites. Comfortable quiet room on the first floor - with more privacy than the ground floor rooms. Restaurant was excellent for dinner - tho breakfast was a bit ho hum, with the restaurant appearing to be a bit understaffed. Not a lot to do on the premises - but nice bike rides and winery visits in the vicinity. A peaceful location with helpful staff.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2020

This was our 4th visit to Spicers and each time is unique. The staff warm and welcoming , restaurant Botanica setting and food by Chef Adam was superb, including our picnic. Room 10 our favourite especially the warm bathroom tiles. Location was great and great to have access to private transfers to wineries. Thankyou until next time. 🙏

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nikitutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews