We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that ticks every box - romantic, relaxing, revitalizing and restaurant to rave about”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A hotel that ticks every box - romantic, relaxing, revitalizing and restaurant to rave about”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I loved every minute of being here. From the genuine welcome on arrival, our beautiful large earthy room with free bubbles and mini bar to our romantic dinner at Botanica, we were in heaven. I requested a few little extras to surprise my hardworking husband and we were blown away by what Belinda and her team did for us from handwritten cards to a special mention at dinner of our anniversary and complimentary glasses of champagne followed by an incredibly romantic scene back at our room - tealights flickering around the spa, bed and sofa, little bundles of lavender from their garden scattered here and there, bath salt lying in wait, music wafting from the stereo and the bed turned down! What more could a couple long overdue for some romance and relaxation ask for? 10 out 10 and we've made a pact to come back here every few months. Belinda, Celeste, Sharon and whoever else I've missed - thank you!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Madfads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    73
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
30
690
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We arrived in the middle of a downpour, but the staff were smiling, helped with bags (a rarity in the Hunter!) and made us feel welcome and dry. Our very spacious room overlooked the fountain, the vineyard and, hurray!, the clearing skies. The bed was very comfortable, and the king size sofa and ottoman in front of a fireplace ready to be lit made me sorry it wasn't winter!
The amenities were perfect. From fluffy towels to luxurious toiletries, and comfy bathrobes and slippers, it was all there. The mini bar (free of charge) was well stocked, including a bottle of local bubbly.
We stayed two nights, and breakfast on both mornings was excellent, the coffee "just right". The whole stay was luxurious and pampered.
It must be added that the staff all had beaming smiles - nothing appeared to be too much trouble. Excellent service, well thought out, even to the little bag of almond biscotti for our drive home.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We (3 couples) stayed at Spicers Vineyard on the weekend of Rod Stewart. The weekend staff were fantastic and helpful. We had dinner in the hotel "Botanica Restaurant. The food was beautiful and the desserts even better. They make the best Piccolo Latte and cappuccino. The rooms are big and spacious.

Best weekend

Diana and George

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My husband and I managed to escape for a night in the Hunter Valley while travelling to Australia to visit relatives. Leaving our daughter with family, we quickly headed to Spicers Vineyard to make the most of our one night of freedom and we could not have hoped for a better night. The room was just perfect. Beautiful interiors, spacious, well equipped (especially the mini bar) and very comfortable. We quickly made ourselves at home. After a quick round of garden golf and a soak in the spa bath we made our way over to the restaurant for dinner where we enjoyed a top class dinner with superb service. Breakfast the following morning was just as good, especially the quiche. Our only regret is that we could not have stayed longer. If you're looking for a romantic getaway, this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haggis126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Based on previous reviews on Tripadvisor, we chose to have our small wedding ceremony at Spicers and we couldn't be happier with our choice of venue. We spent four nights at Spicers and really enjoyed every moment of our stay. The suites are spacious and beautiful, and the whole environment is very peaceful and relaxing. The service is fantastic (but never intrusive) with an impressive attention to detail. The food at restaurant Botanica is amazing - fine dining at its best. Spicers is a truly wonderful place and unlike many other upmarket hotels/restaurants it's not pretentious in any way.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
13.1 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
7.5 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
0.7 km away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#3 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
10.7 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
12.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Property: Spicers Vineyards Estate
Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,774 - ₹ 36,420
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband and every guest is greeted on arrival with complimentary wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing