We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
jetseta10
NSW, AUS

Old charm with a need for some TLC

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jun 2024via mobile
The grounds of the convent are beautiful and the drive up the entrance really is amazing. The rooms are rustic and beautiful, however they are in need of a touch up to restore some of the original charm. Paint is peeling off, cracked tiles, etc. Also our bed was really uncomfortable as there was a hard bit in the middle (I assume where the two king single beds met). But apart from this we loved the convent. It’s just not quite there, but it definitely has the potential. Also, the coffee machine wasn’t working when we were there which put a bit of a dampener on the breaky as it was quite a long wait. But we understand these things happen.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, Owner at The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 11 Jun 2024
Hi Jetseta, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the beauty of the convent grounds and entrance. We appreciate your suggestions for improvements and will definitely take them into consideration to enhance the overall experience for our guests. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₹21,449
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    ₹21,449
  • Expedia.com
    ₹21,443
  • Hotels.com
    ₹21,420
2.4 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge/Kitchenette
₹14,022
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₹14,501
  • Agoda.com
    ₹10,450
  • Hotels.com
    ₹11,971
3.8 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free parking
₹12,825
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₹12,821
  • Trip.com
    ₹11,443
  • Hotels.com
    ₹12,807
5.1 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
₹24,642
  • Priceline
    ₹72,637
  • Hotels.com
    ₹12,863
  • Expedia.com
    ₹12,878
2.2 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free parking
Pool
₹9,373
  • Priceline
    ₹8,763
  • Vio.com
    ₹8,376
  • Expedia.com
    ₹12,256
7.9 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Arrival Drive
₹12,037
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    ₹12,041
  • Priceline
    ₹12,040
  • Expedia.com
    ₹12,037
3.0 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Gardens
₹10,021
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    ₹10,011
  • Trip.com
    ₹9,447
  • StayForLong
1.6 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Lovedale
₹18,419
₹15,250
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹18,419
  • Trip.com
    ₹18,401
  • Hotels.com
    ₹16,644
3.0 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹10,484
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    ₹8,421
  • Agoda.com
    ₹8,003
  • Expedia.com
    ₹10,481
8.0 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Harrigan's Hunter Valley
₹7,266
  • Expedia.com
    ₹8,140
  • Agoda.com
    ₹6,419
  • Hotels.com
    ₹8,131
2.6 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pokolbin
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
156
100
44
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
156
100
44
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hunter valley little things beautiful setting circa wine luxury region court tennis estate kangaroos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2024

The Convent is located in a great spot, very central. It’s a lovely old building, comfy beds. The bathroom had a very high bath, would be hard for some people to climb into it to use the shower. The restaurant was closed as we were there Monday night, in fact a lot of places closed Mondays.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 16 May 2024

Hi Marianne, thank you for sharing your experience at The Convent. We're glad you enjoyed our central location and comfortable beds. We appreciate your feedback regarding the high bath and restaurant hours, and will take this into consideration for future improvements. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2024

Lovely hotel with tastefully decorated room, bathroom let it down being old and a tall bath difficult to climb in and out of for a shower.
We stayed on a Monday and Tuesday night as it was my husbands birthday, unfortunately the restaurant (circa 1876) at the end of the drive was closed Mondays but we enjoyed dining there on the Tuesday night.
Breakfast was served outside (under cover) it was rather too large for me but excellent.
There are lovely balconies (shared by a few rooms) which are a nice place to sit and read.
There is a small outdoor pool and tennis court.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirgoQualitySeeker47
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 16 May 2024

Hi Marianne, thank you for sharing your experience at The Convent. We're glad you enjoyed our central location and comfortable beds. We appreciate your feedback regarding the high bath and restaurant hours, and will take this into consideration for future improvements. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2022 via mobile

The Convent is in a beautiful location and a beautiful building, coming up the drive as the house was revealed was magical. It was also the first time we saw kangaroos, so super exciting. Great service and warm welcome. Room a little small and a little tatty around the edges, but comfortable. Really enjoyed sitting on the veranda in the evening reading, very peaceful. The Hunter Valley is spread out and restaurants tend to serve set three course dinners, of which the nearby / attached restaurant (Circa 1884) is one of them. So, if you want a quite, small, informal dinner then you will need to drive and at this time of year make reservations, also no room service either - be prepared and pre-plan. Great breakfast, beautifully served in a lovely setting. Did have a small swimming pool and a tennis court, but didn’t use either.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank McCWaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2022

When looking at the accommodation choices online, we couldn’t decide between Spicer’s Vineyard Estate and The Convent. In the end we decided to book one night in each to experience both properties and their respective restaurants. If you too are trying to decide between the two, then don’t hesitate and pick up the phone to Spicer’s, as it wins hands down.

The positives for The Convent are stunning grounds and a beautiful old building, both of which are highly photogenic. Walking into the building made me feel like I was entering an old Agatha Christie movie.

As impressive as the aesthetics were, it was clear that both hotel and restaurant staff were not very well trained. Check-in at the hotel involves walking into an empty reception with nobody on reception desk. There is a helpful sign telling you to call a number but that isn’t the sort of welcome I would expect for the price I paid. every time I went to reception, I had the same experience.

The same staffing issues could be seen in the restaurant. Online Circa looks to be the best restaurant in the Hunter Valley and I can only assume something drastic changed since all the awards picked up in 2019. The food was nothing special and the service poor. We asked for advice on the wines, and it was clear our waiter had no knowledge of the wine list. We asked for recommendation on the menu and the best we got was “ladies usually order the scallops”. We were seated by the kitchen, so I had the pleasure of watching dirty glasses and bottles being stacked up on the bar, with nobody willing to clean down throughout our meal. I ordered a bottle of wine and poured most of the bottle myself and finally had to watch one of the staff constantly coming out of the kitchen chewing a mouth full of food.

My final issue with The Convent in their internet. Broadband has been around a while now and its fast and cheap to access on most places, just not at The Convent. The free internet provided is slow and limited to 5GB as they want to charge guests $15 a day for accessing normal broadband speeds.

Now these are first world problems I agree and if it was just one or two incidents it wouldn’t matter. But so many little things gave us a lasting impression of The Convent as having poor service and an untrained team.

While not as aesthetically pleasing as The Convent, Spicer’s is still a beautiful property and having an open fireplace in your room is never a bad thing. The style is more modern, with the room being large and comfortable. The check-in and check-out were both friendly and efficient, with nice touches like giving guests free flower seeds to plant at home.

The real difference is Botanica, which is a beautiful intermate restaurant. We had a warm welcome from the team and our waitress was amazing. She was only 19 years old but was engaging and had a great knowledge of the wine list and the food on the menu. The wine she recommended was perfect, the dishes she recommended were amazing. Between the restaurant, the service and the food, my wife and I had a memory we will keep for the rest of our lives.

So there you have it folks, two hotels, same sort of price point, but only one winner.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2022 via mobile

The high tea was atrocious and a total rip off

$60 per person - you get premade basic sandwiches and store bought cakes and sweets from coles.

Absolutely ruin our occassion and get away.

Tried to give constructive feedback to the waitress.. wouldnt hear of it and didnt want to listen

All i can say is - no wonder we were the only customers there on a sunday lunchtime

Very disapponted and never felt so ripped off

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Travellerfido64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews