We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ellemay 🍹🐠🐳
Sydney, Australia

Beautiful building

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Jun 2020via mobile
We visited Pokolbin over the weekend and having stayed numerous times at The Convent over many years we couldn’t help but stop and enjoy the beautiful buildings and grounds. We didn’t stay this time due to COVID but it’s on our bucket list again.
Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₹14,295
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    ₹14,295
  • Expedia.com
    ₹14,242
  • Hotels.com
    ₹14,242
2.4 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹11,753
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    ₹11,108
  • Agoda.com
    ₹10,332
  • Expedia.com
    ₹11,647
3.8 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free parking
₹12,990
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    ₹11,820
  • Agoda.com
    ₹10,996
  • Expedia.com
    ₹12,942
5.1 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
₹24,959
  • Priceline
    ₹45,209
  • Expedia.com
    ₹12,377
  • Trip.com
2.2 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Arrival Drive
₹12,858
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    ₹12,877
  • Algotels
    ₹11,703
  • Priceline
    ₹12,876
3.0 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovedale
₹17,945
  • Priceline
    ₹18,663
  • Vio.com
    ₹16,603
  • Trip.com
3.0 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹14,448
₹10,831
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
7.9 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Harrigan's Hunter Valley
₹7,283
  • Priceline
    ₹8,577
  • Vio.com
    ₹6,824
  • Expedia.com
    ₹8,201
2.6 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free parking
Pool
₹10,619
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    ₹8,531
  • Expedia.com
    ₹8,357
  • Hotels.com
    ₹8,635
8.0 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Gardens
₹10,185
  • Priceline
    ₹10,185
  • Vio.com
    ₹9,788
  • Expedia.com
    ₹10,147
1.6 km from The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pokolbin
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
156
100
44
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
156
100
44
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hunter valley little things beautiful setting circa wine luxury region court tennis estate kangaroos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2020

We stayed here for 3 nights over the Australia Day weekend. Stunning hotel which had been restored to its original state. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble at all. The rooms were gorgeous, the food stunning and plentiful. Grounds were lovely and the pool was welcoming on the really hot days.
Thankyou for a lovely long weekend away. Will definitely be back and will recommend to our friends.
Maria & Mike Mochan

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank OzzieMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheConventM, Duty Manager at The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2020

Hello Maria & Mike Mochan,

Warm greetings from Convent Hunter Valley Hotel!

Thank you for leaving a delightful review of your current stay with us. We are glad that you appreciated the restoration and offerings.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back and your friends too!

Best regards,

Convent Hunter Valley Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2020

From the UK, vsisiting Sydney - took a trip out to the Hunter Valley for 2 nights.
The loaction and setting is beautiful and it is very peaceful. A great location for exploring the Hunter Valley.
The room was tired, especially the bathroom, which badly needed refurbishing. We are used to more imaculate, higher spec fittings.
It was very hot when we stayed - the AC was noisy but just about coped.
Reception staff were friendly and attentive.
Breakfast was good. The nearby but separate restaurant is good for dinner.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Trek574855
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheConventM, Duty Manager at The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2020

Hello Trek574855,

Warm Greetings from Convent Hunter Valley Hotel!

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us your experience regarding your recent stay with us.

We have noted your feedback about the room and bathroom condition and it was shared to all relevant departments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

The Convent Hunter Valley Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2019

I rang ahead to get a room for father in law with a walk in shower (not over the bath) and therefore we had two huuuuuuuge beautiful rooms on the gardens. The receptionist was impeccable, the service was gentle and discreet. There were bushfires nearby and it was midweek, so the place was pretty quiet. So we had a lovely time with most of this gorgeous hotel to ourselves. Dinner down the road at the Blaxland Inn was great. Could have walked there. Beautiful sleep in a very comfy bed. Breakfast was delicious, especially the orange juice. Then I noticed there was no one in the pool, so we hung out there for a couple of hours till we had to checkout. Just a lovely, lovely overnight stay. We thought the reception area was a bit pretentious looking, and there was no chocolate in the fridge on arrival. But we arrived hungry and tired, so what we needed was that sojourn down the street to Blaxland. After that, everything was great. Will be back for sure.

Room tip: I think only one room has a walk in shower (not over the bath). Ask for it.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LadyQinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheConventM, Duty Manager at The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

Hello LadyQinto,

Warm greetings from Convent Hunter Valley Hotel and thank you for visiting!

We are pleased to know that you had a very relaxing, quiet and lovely stay with us.

It will be a delight to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

The Convent Hunter Valley Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2019

I have experienced superb front desk service in my travels to many different countries before but The Convent is definitely one of the best! The moment I stepped into the hotel, the smiles, greetings and arrangements were amazing. I had breakfast in the hotel as I have read great reviews about it and it did not disappoint. There were a few options to select from (all very yummy) and they can even do some customization for you. I was celebrating my birthday there and they sent 2 glasses of champagne to my room.

Just one watchout when you are returning to the hotel late. The front desk leaves at around 10pm (I think) and the front door will be locked. My key card did not work when I was trying to get in and was locked out of the hotel. Luckily I found my way in through the back kitchen door. Strangely enough, my card could work with my room door so all good in the end.

I will definitely be back here again!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lovetoeatanddrink11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheConventM, Duty Manager at The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

Hello lovetoeatanddrink11,

Warm greetings from the Convent Hunter Valley Hotel!

Thank you for leaving your positive feedback following your recent visit..

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were looked after well by our team. Also, we made sure that all key and lock system are well-functioning to avoid any inconveniences especially to your next visit.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2019

We had our wedding at Circa 1876 on November 22nd and it couldn't have been more perfect. Absolutely everything about our experience with The Convent/Circa was incredible. The staff, the food, the venue, so so so incredible. Wish we could do it all over again!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank isabelw773
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheConventM, Duty Manager at The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2019

Dear isabelw773,

Warm greetings from Convent Hunter Valley Resort!

We're thrilled that your wedding was everything you had hoped for and more!

The staff were delighted that everything went so well and everyone had such a good time.

We would be very pleased to welcome you all back again at some time in the future.

Best regards,

The Convent Hunter Valley Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews