We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grange on Hermitage
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My partner and I stayed here for our anniversary last year, and this year decided we'd like to visit the Hunter Valley again and what better place to stay than the Grange?

Chris and Ken were away, so we were looked after by Leonie who was lovely. We also enjoyed being greeted by Xena, their black labrador, whenever we went onto our little verandah.

Everything was great - the breakfast was lovely, the room was immaculate and it's such a great size, with a full kitchen and refrigerator (perfect for storing all the wine!) and it's in a great position - within minutes you are at lots of different wineries.

Unfortunately there was one thing that tainted our trip a little bit. On the first night we stayed there our neighbours got home at 12am and we could hear every little thing that was going on in their room (things we didn't particularly want to hear!!) and they weren't quiet until after 2am. The walls are very thin, and it was very frustrating for us - but this was through no fault of the owners at all.

Other than that, it was great!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
107
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Grange on Hermitage recently. The accomodation was very nice and comfortable with a king bed and spa bath, kitchenette facililites with breakfast provided for both mornings. The Grange is situated in a very handy spot to access the wineries and restaurants of Pokolbin.The grounds are lovely and the setback from the road is quiet without the feeling of isolation. A lovely touch is Ellie the black Labrador dog who is so sweet and turns up to greet you on arrival and she has the sweetest nature. Leone was a great host and was at the ready with local information about restaurants and places of interest. The Grange is good value for money. All in all it was a very relaxing and pleasurable stay at the Grange, we hope to go back for a stay soon.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a big picture window with a view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizzjupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I recently stayed at The Grange on Hermitage and had an excellent stay. Ken and Chris were very welcoming and friendly. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a cottage which was spotless and had a cosy fireplace. The room hire also included a lovely breakfast of cereal, bread, fruit salad and yoghurt.
Our overall stay at The Grange on Hermitage added to an enjoyable trip to the Hunter and we can’t wait to go back

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband, infant son and I stayed here for five nights at the end of our three week holiday in Australia in March. Ken and Chris are perfect hosts and really make a huge effort to ensure that your stay is a comfprtable and memorable one. Ken and Chris upgraded us free of charge to a cottage as they felt it more suitable with the baby- this was realy appreciated. A great place to stay for a relaxing affordable stay in the lovely if overly expensive Hunter Valley area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kickink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Just returned from 2 nights for our 43rd Wedding Anniversary; Ken & Chris our hosts were helpful and considerate and made it special for us. The queen guest room was very large, beautifully furnished and so comfortable, even breakfast was a real treat. Definitely recommend a visit to this property and dont forget to say hi to the "dogs"

Room Tip: at thye recommendation of Ken we booked the queen guest room with en-suite at the front of the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolb7146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
2.8 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
10.8 km away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.9 km away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Berenbell Vineyard Retreat
Berenbell Vineyard Retreat
#9 of 39 in Pokolbin
98 reviews
7.0 km away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 9 in Pokolbin
358 reviews
0.9 km away
Estate Tuscany
Estate Tuscany
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange on Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange on Hermitage

Property: The Grange on Hermitage
Address: 820 Hermitage Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,600 - ₹ 23,194
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grange on Hermitage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Country Style accommodation in Hunter Wine Country. Self catering 2 bedroom cottages & Guest Rooms on 28 acres of parkland & family vineyard. Enjoy the peace & tranquility by relaxing on the verandahs watching the kangaroos at dusk or wandering through our parkland or family vineyard accompanied by our Black Labradors, Ellie & the youthful, Zena. You could stroll across the road to the Mistletoe Winery. Our property is situated within minutes of a wide range of wineries, restaurants, H. V. Gardens, golf courses & many other attractions. Generous breakfast provisions included in your tariff. Your Hosts, Chris & Ken Bray & the Labrador Zena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grange on Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange On Hermitage Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing