We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book Your Tour with Tex”
Review of Tex Tours

Tex Tours
Ranked #4 of 13 Food & Drink in Newcastle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed 27 December 2017

Tex is exactly the kind of guide I like. Right away he makes you feel comfortable. He knows a lot about the wine region, but he doesn't overdo it. He keeps it to 12 or less, so you get a small group experience at the wineries. Worth every penny.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hunter valley"
in 3 reviews
"winery"
in 2 reviews
"wineries"
in 5 reviews
"funny"
in 2 reviews
"kangaroos"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Tex was FANTASTIC. What a great host who kept the laughter going throughout the day. The first two wineries were small boutiques and had the best wine of the day (gutted I didn't buy more earlier) lunch was quite nice with just a small group of us. The cheese was slightly disappointing as it was all soft cheese and not much variety to the tasting. There were better bits dotted around! The chocolate was next door and again was slightly underwhelming we tried 4 types which were not explained to us. However Tex made sure I was well and truly full by sneaking me loads :). It was a nice mix though to throw in with the vineyards.

The next two wineries were bigger and more pretentious and VERY stingy with their measures. It would have been better the other way round and I would have bought A LOT more wine from the smaller boutiques.

All in all it was a great day with a great host who made sure we stopped for pictures of kangaroos. Would be a 5* for Tex's fabulous hosting skills!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Rosie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Tex is the best tour guide - very funny, warm and informative. Had a brilliant day. Very attentive. Great value.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank melonann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

A great day start to finish. Tex was humorous, informative and popular with everyone on board. 4 varied wineries, chocolate cheese and fudge tasting. The ultimate decadent day out with pickup/drop off from our hotel in Newcastle. Perfect! We loved it.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank KerylC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

What a guy! Punctual, organised, friendly and funny (POFF)! Tex picked us up at/dropped us back to our hotel in Newcastle which was great. We visited 4 wineries for private group tastings, sampled cheese, chocolate and fudge before stopping at Harrigan Irish pub for a yummy lunch. Tex really looked after us all, ensuring we had an enjoyable day...even if some of his jokes were a bit scary! Tex you are a STAR! Thanks for a great day! Julie and Leanne

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tex Tours also viewed

 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Tex Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing