We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of polish”

Silo Restaurant and Lounge Bar
Ranked #98 of 661 Restaurants in Newcastle
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Newcastle's' hottest cocktail lounge and restaurant, Silo Restaurant & Lounge, is this month celebrating their 11th birthday. Since bursting onto our culinary experience radars in 2004, this sophisticated, boutique, harbour side restaurant & bar, has become a favorite among many Novocastrians and visiting tourists alike.
Reviewed 9 July 2018

The setting is good opposite the harbour and the lunch wasn’t a busy time on this particular day. Chose the seafood platter which was a little underwhelming and had to ask for a slice of lemon, for seafood dish! Partners mint and pea risotto had very little actual mint which was a bit disappointing making the dish quite bland. Service wasn’t the best on such a quite day.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank downunder55299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

The food here is very good. Over looking Newcastle harbour. A little pricey but worth trying the food you won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

The service was 5star
The food was 5star
Made our lunch a wonderful experience.
We will be back... thank you

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewcastleMark, Owner at Silo Restaurant and Lounge Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to let us know Richard.
We are very happy you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again.
Yours The Silo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Great dining experience at Silo tonight. We took our niece for her first diner out after turning 18.
Food and service were excellent!
Portions were very big.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank lemmingstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Recently my son and daughter in law took my wife and myself to Silo to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. I can only say they chose well. The meal was beautiful and the staff were friendly and efficient. A great night was had by all. Well done Silo.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ramadaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silo Restaurant and Lounge Bar also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Silo Restaurant and Lounge Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing