We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$ 124
View deal
PricelineUS$ 124
TripadvisorUS$ 123
Travelocity
Hotels.comUS$ 123
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$ 123
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveller rating
219
243
54
26
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
219
243
54
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews civic theatre great location the pub kitchenette facilities hunter street central location secure parking stay there again car park easy walk great room comfy bed after hours staff were friendly light rail saturday night noise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 560 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2021 via mobile

Noise from industrial cooling towers was 24/7, even with balcony door closed. Downstairs bar music loud (all arvo n night) and Trivia Night (thursday) host practically screaming into the mic could be heard all night despite my earplugs !! Bathroom dirty (toilet seat !!), air vents all thick with dust and mould on ceiling. Carpet stained. Furniture chipped. Comfy bed and clean. If not for lovely Ben at reception I would give it zero. A shame.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2021 via mobile

Had a lovely evening at the Claredon. Booking process was by talking w’a team member not a computer. Met at the door to sign in & then escorted to our table. Music was on & it was no trouble to move us to a quieter table. Tim arrived introduced himself, & organised menus & looked after us. Very professional & very helpful, Monica our waitress was just lovely also. Meals arrived promptly the S&P squid was a lovely shared entree, followed by Orecchiette pasta & pork cutlet, just delicious. Wine list was well put together w’a nice Hunter representation. After dinner we left to attend a show, & as our experience was so good we returned for a night cap. Great spot for dinner & a drink. Thoroughly recommend

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Woods742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon Hotel, Owner at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are extremely lucky to have staff like Tim and Monica on our team and they will be thrilled to hear your positive feedback. We would love to have you visit our venue again soon. Wishing you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2020

Everything about The Clarendon Hotel was absolutely perfect!! The location, the room, the food & drinks, and the outstanding customer service!

It’s close to everything you need, and the room was clean, comfortable & very spacious.

We will definitely stay here again without any hesitation at all!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank DSPK93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon Hotel, Owner at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Wow! We cannot thank you enough for leaving us such an outstanding review. Our staff work incredibly hard to ensure all guests enjoy the best that Newcastle has to offer and they will be thrilled to be provided with such positive feedback. We would love to have you stay again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2020 via mobile

Perfect location, super friendly staff and very easy going, easy access to drinks down stairs and very close to entertainment in the area. Noise wasn’t an issue and quieted down early enough, but it was perfect for us and very flexible.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lukes_rad_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon Hotel, Owner at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Many thanks for the review! Great to hear that you were able to get out and support some of our local entertainment. We hope to have you stay again on your next trip to Newcastle. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2020 via mobile

My husband I stayed at The Clarendon and were so pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious and very clean. Nice big shower plenty of hot water and good water pressure.
Bed was super comfy, the room was surprisingly quiet for such a central location. Staff were super friendly and extremely helpful when we were looking for suggestions on a restaurant for dinner. Due to the weather we were not able to do as much as I had planned so we will be heading back to Newcastle again and both agree would stay at The Clarendon again.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tramonem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon Hotel, Owner at Clarendon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Hi there, Tracey, we really appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is such a shame about the weather over the weekend. We would love to have you back again when the sun is fully shining and you are able to appreciate all that Newcastle has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews