We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
28
55
18
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
55
18
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub jazz night period hotel closed on sundays street noise can be great location no elevator comfortable bed own bathroom small room across the road lovely hotel after hours hunter st pleasant stay would stay again stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2018

Staying overnight - old hotel beautifully restored - magnificent old staircase - rooms seem quite small, but adequate - no elevator - no problems with noise from downstairs -air conditioned - we had double bed - door locks need key entry - password for after hours entry - staff helpful - check in at bar - no reception (as such) - slightly away from main drag - breakfast at nearby cafes.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ScotsAustralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandHotelMANAGER, Manager at The Grand Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you! we appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Second time staying at the Grand. Enjoyed large room with balcony. Close to Newcastle city centre. Shame restaurant and bar closed on Sundays
Because remember having great food last time. Will be back.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Martine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandHotelMANAGER, Manager at The Grand Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you, Martine. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to you staying with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Stayed at the grand for 3 nights, found it to be cozy and clean. beds were quite loud and squeaky, but other than that was very pleasant. conveniently located in short walking distance around coffee shops, but not many restaurants apart from its own and a few other pubs. beach is only two blocks away. about 1-2 km away there is many different restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

The room was quite clean but small, poky and cramped. TV reception kept going off and on. Food was OK but staff especially restaurant staff were surly, inattentive and unhelpful as if they could not be bothered to lift a finger.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyer708344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandHotelMANAGER, Manager at The Grand Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Hi there! Thank you for your review, although we are disappointed you found the service insufficient. All staff receive the relevant training to encourage friendly and efficient service. We apologise you weren't rewarded with this. We will be working closely with the team to ensure service is improved from this day forward.

Please contact us directly regarding your stay as we would love for you to join us again, and would hope to make your next visit more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the grand. It was a pleasant place to stay. It was a small room but very conveniently located and close to the beach and some good restaurants. There’s no parking and no breakfast on Sunday but those were the only negatives. Great bar with very attentive staff. Would stay again for a short trip.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DKaren81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaceHGrand, Manager at The Grand Hotel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thanks! we appreciate your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay! Just a heads up for next time, street parking is free on weekends on all roads surrounding the hotel, and unfortunately as we do not open for breakfast, our guests are offered a 10% discount at Bolton Street Pantry just a few doors away.

Thank you for your comments regarding our staff. We all have a passion for meeting new people, one of the perks of working in the industry!

see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews