We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious and fabulously refurbished”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Albury
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Spacious and fabulously refurbished”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Stayed overnight in a queen deluxe room. More a hotel than a motel, this is a very very comfortable place to lay your head. Big room that was amazingly well furnished including a swivelling flat screen TV, a microwave, toaster, kettle and sink (but no crockery or cutlery beyond 2 mugs & teaspoons), a mini bar fridge (smaller than a bar fridge), an iPod dock, desk with great desk chair, funky sofa, table and chairs, huge glass walled shower (no bath) and comfy comfy bed. My room was very quiet and overlooked green space. Easy parking in wide spaces under the two storey building and there is lift access from parking level. Grear value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear r_ontheroad,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with everything during your stay at our property and that you found it to be great value.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    267
    36
    7
    6
See reviews for
189
359
44
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this motel. I was impressed with the ipod docking station in the room, as I would rather listen to my music than watch TV. The communal spa was a great one, super strong jets and the right temperature. Just what I needed. The steak I ordered was one of the best steaks ever. The king sized bed helped too. It is not as central as I normally like, as it is a 2-3 block walk from the centre of town- and I normally choose the more central ones, but the location is fairly central. I would choose this one again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Lynn H,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you were able to use the majority of the facilities we have to offer and that you enjoyed them all, especially your meal.

Thank you for your postive remarks and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Travelling back from Dubbo to Melbourne, we arrived without a reservation. Reception staff were friendly and efficient and we took a newly renovated King Room for $125. We were surprised when we got to the room to find a room that would be equal to many 4+ star international hotels in which we have stayed.

Modern with beautiful timber furnishings and just about everything you would need in a room. Lots of space, a sliding door onto a balcony, bar fridge (which we would have used if there was a Chardonnay in it as we don't drink Sav Blanc!) Nesspresso machine etc etc.The only one problem we had with the room was the Chaisse Lounge. We found this to be uncomfortable to relax on and watch a bit of TV. Looked good but just a little impractical we thought. Good area for working with an office style desk chair as well as table and chairs. The king bed was very inviting with expensive linen, but we found it to be a little soft for our taste but I'm sure others would find it just fine.

The bathroom was to a very high standard - fully tiled with large modern tiles complete with walk-in shower, modern taps and vanity basin. (Just missing somewhere to put the soap after you've washed your hands)

It was a Sunday night and the restaurant was open. We had a drink first in the very inviting lounge area before going into dinner. Staff were friendly and efficient. Our waiter even made sure that he took our order before that of a large party which arrived at the same time to be sure we didn't have to wait too long for our meal. The meal, while not "gourmet standard" was good and my fillet steak was excellent, cooked just the way I wanted, and reasonably priced.

We had stayed before and had a good experience but since the room refurb, we wouldn't stay anywhere else and would go the extra distance on a long trip just to make it to this hotel to rest up.

The owners have done a great job on their renovations and they are to be congratulated.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a recently refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear mangdt,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review on Tripadvisor.

We have put a lot of time and effort into the refurbishments and it is the positive comments such as your that make this worthwhile.

We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Albury.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Arrived at the hotel with family of four, no booking seeking a one night stay, given a very large room for a great price. Very happy with standard of service, quality and cleanliness of room. A very comfortable and happy stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Simon L,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting review here on Tripadvisor.

I was glad to read that you were very happy with the standard of service, quality and cleanliness of our accommodation.

I think they are the key factors that all guests are looking for in accommodation and they are definately the key factors we strive to provide our guests on a daily basis.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming your family back the next time you are in Albury.

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Overnight stop on Melb-Syd trip. Booked in direct and given upgrade to executive room for $105. On arrival upgraded to VIP suite with spa. Great big room but in need of renovation however great value. If breakfast wanted take with booking as would have been $25 for 2 full cooked rather than $40 for 2 if not pre booked. Good walk to Dean St eating.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBandSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HovellTreeManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear SBandSB,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review here on Tripadvisor.

I completely agree that the VIP rooms are in need of a renovation and they will be getting one done very soon, but they will be the last rooms we do as we have something very special planned for these rooms.
Hopefully by the time you return these rooms will have been renovated and you will get to see and enjoy the improvements we are going to make to these rooms.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Albury

Kind regards

Ben Layton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albury hotels
0.7 km away
Atura Albury
Atura Albury
#4 of 31 in Albury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.4 km away
Albury Paddlesteamer
Albury Paddlesteamer
#7 of 31 in Albury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.2 km away
Quality Hotel on Olive
Quality Hotel on Olive
#10 of 31 in Albury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Albury Manor House
Albury Manor House
#2 of 31 in Albury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
5.4 km away
Quality Resort Siesta
Quality Resort Siesta
#3 of 31 in Albury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
3.5 km away
Hume Country Motor Inn
Hume Country Motor Inn
#5 of 31 in Albury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
Address: 614 Hovell Street | Corner Hovell Street And Wodonga Place, Albury, New South Wales 2640, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Albury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Albury
#1 Business Hotel in Albury
#1 Romantic Hotel in Albury
#1 Spa Hotel in Albury
#1 Family Hotel in Albury
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,650 - ₹ 9,396
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on the Murray River. The Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn is an unbeatable venue for corporate conferences, events, meetings and weddings. This superbly appointed property offers friendly and professional service combined with superior standard accommodation an ambiance befitting an award winning property. The Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn is easily recognized by its large bay windows overlooking landscaped gardens. Located three hour's drive north of Melbourne and 6 hour's drive south of Sydney. Airport 10 minutes drive. Public transport just outside our door. The Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn features 60 guest rooms, spa suites and fully self contained apartments. All rooms offer free Austar, mini bar, data port, hair dryer, tea and coffee facilities with toaster, individual reverse cycle air conditioner, full size ironing board and iron, disabled room on request, balconies on request, guest laundry, wireless / broadband internet. All rooms are non smoking. The property features a heated outdoor swimming pool and spa, as well as a gym, sauna and indoor spa. The Hovell Bar & Grill is well known for its excellent cuisine, great selection of wine and warm, friendly, efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Hotel Albury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing