We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
312
71
28
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
71
28
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kiwi experience paddle boarding free wifi the kitchen new zealand tv lounge bed dorm laid back cheers guys private room a great stay communal areas awesome place down to earth south island tauranga bay stayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017

This hostel kicked my a-- in every positive way, from basketball, boxing class to paddling out again after a year. It is nicely located and the WWOOFrs keep the kitchen, patio and bathrooms clean and tidy. The property itself is big and you can make it your home easily. We stayed in a double and it was comfy. We stayed 6 nights here as we had business in town to take care of and a van to scrap, but chose to participate in as much as we could and enjoyed ourselves a lot. Great Wi-fi, hot showers, spacious and very nice place just to relax at. Gym next-door and skatepark across the street were bonuses. Ray was boss, helpful and fun, he made an effort to see how you were doing. Steve was also engaging and fun once he was out from behind reception.

What I think could be improved (as stated you would love to hear): I get the laid back feel it promotes, but if you don’t hunt down the managers and make it clear what you want then you will get nowhere waiting around for it, so maybe a little more organization could help. A few times we waited thinking the woofrs were surfing so we could get a ride, but they changed their mind last minute and we were lost on what was going on.
Also, although most WWOOFrs were AWESOME and did their best to help, some were clicky and knew nothing when approached for help, they also knocked on our door quite a bit asking when we were checking out, we kept having to tell them the date. Maybe there’s a list showing rooms and check out dates they can check prior to cleaning? or maybe they just wanted us to leave hahaha...
Lastly, we stayed 6 nights and they promoted giving discounted hire rates for that (stay and play deals posted around hostel) but we didn’t, they made us pay full price anyway, even when we had our own wetsuits. Yeah we skipped the lessons and got 2 days free hire, maybe that’s why, but again, not much was made clear to us. I was a bit bummed. So better to invest in your own boards if you are coming here mainly to surf like ourselves.

Hopefully, any response to this review from management isn’t smug/smart like the ones I read for your terrible reviews lol because we didn’t think this place was terrible at all, we had a really good time with you guys, and happy we spent a week here to get pumped for our NZ adventure. Nice hostel, would recommend to people passing thru, Westport is a cool town and the surf/fishing is good. If you have your own boards and gear than you’re all def set.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We stayed one night at Bazil's. Check-in was a breeze and there was a very laid-back vibe. Lots of outdoor patio space and cool music playing around the facility. The place is a quirky warren of rooms, tents, caravans etc. There are two separate kitchens and shower/bathroom areas. Showers are on a timer mechanism, so that hot water can be enjoyed equally. It is a stopover for the Kiwi Experience Tour Bus, so when they stopped by with busloads of backpackers, the kitchen and bathrooms become chaotic when they arrive and leave. There is free unlimited wifi

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therichpeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Hostel was okay but over priced for what it was. The camp fire was awesome on the beach and the BBQ girl was great.
The stand up paddle boarding was not worth it. Not the nicest river and the staff for the paddle boarding were not confident in the activity.
Would not recommend.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bazils, Owner at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Seasons Greetings,

Sorry you found our facilities overpriced...we put all our profits back into improving our facilities and are very proud of our 6 years of effort...come back in a few weeks we will have finished our $75,000 dollar outdoor kitchen and pizza oven ;) Sorry you found the best river in the world not very nice...It has the highest flow rate in all of New Zealand and its Maori name "Kawatiri" means swift and deep which happens to be my nick name... Sorry our paddleboarding staff you felt were not confident...They are highly trained at driving you to the drop off and then giving you directions on where to paddle.... You hired a Paddleboard. So not sure how the staff effected your good times ;) Please come back and I will personally show you the defination of a great hostel and how to have fun on the Buller River...
Safe Travels

Stephen Barry Lee (Kawatiri)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

I've travelled all over the world and this is without a doubt one of the coolest hostels I've ever stayed in. Came here on kiwi experience back in October, was sad to have only stayed one night. Friendly staff and a great little courtyard to chill out in hammocks with a book from the book exchange, clean homely kitchen with plenty of herbs and spice like extras you need for cooking. A lot of really cool art and knick knacks on the walls everywhere. Loved the cozy Tv room with a huge range of DVDs, popped on Harry Potter and relaxed by the fire made for a very relaxed night. Dorm rooms are big enough, comfy beds. Don't really remember the showers, don't think I showered while here but the bathrooms were always clean. I'm still telling people how much I loved it if they head to the South Island to check out Westport if not just for Bazils!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Truenoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Spent a night at Bazils after getting off the Heaphy track. Really nice guys running the place and an awesome hostel to relax and recover. I've spent time in a lot of hostels and this one was certainly one of the best. Thanks for the stay!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews