We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

I loved this place, stayed two nights. The staff were friendly helpful awesome.
Place is kept clean and tidy would stay again in a heartbeat. The bed was very comfy, really couldn't ask for more

Very well located to the centre of town.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Mark_Perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

We found this hostel to be very average in comparison with other hostels we've stayed at in New Zealand. For the same price elsewhere we got a more modern, comfortable double room with an ensuite. There doesn't seem to be enough showers or bathroom facilities when it's busy. It didn't feel very clean either and our bed was very creaky so we didn't sleep that well. On the plus side the owners are very friendly, the kitchen is quite spacious and the wifi is free and can be used on more than one device. Overall, you can get a lot more for the same price elsewhere.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen L, Manager at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Hi there,

Thank you for your review of our Hostel...Sorry our Ensuite room was not modern enough for you we are constantly upgrading our facilities and will do our best ;)...the room has only one shower which is private for you so sorry your own private bathroom was too busy for you...The rest of the hostel has shared facilities with 14 showers and 12 toilets so in future please feel free to use any one you like... You will be happy to know I have fixed the creaky bed...We have a great team of cleaners who carefully and lovingly clean the hostel daily and will do better in the future thanks...

Safe Travels and please come visit again we would love to right our wrongs for you...;)

Steve @ Bazils Hostel & Surf School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

I have been in this hostel in February and June, for few weeks, and each time was awesome.

You can surf whatever the season, the sea is not so cold, and the wet-suit good quality. I learn so much about surf with Steve, Tom and Pana (instructors). The spots around Westport are very good, and not busy ! It's good, compare to North Island.

The staff is very friendly, the owners cool, and the artists skilled ! Everything there helps to remember it's holiday time ! It's cosy, the room are spacious, the leaving room full of DVD. The nights are quiet (friendly security guy will ask you to), but there is everything one block away for party time !
If you prefer sport activity, rent a bike and try the cost tracks or the old ghost road, a skate and go to the skate park, or ask for the gym next door.

The murals are awesome, it's like everyone give a piece of personality, and the result give you one of the best place to be in New Zealand !

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

I've stayed here many times, both for work and privately.

Every time, I have been nothing but impressed. The rooms are large and represent great value for money. The facilities are excellent, and the level of service is class leading.

I've also used the surf school - and its great - despite having never surfed in my life, I was up and standing within an hour.

Great central location. If you are in Westport, book Bazils.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniamiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

This was the coolest hostel I have ever been to! It was filled with beautiful artwork from people who have stayed over the years and had the loveliest cozy feeling as it is a remodelled villas. You feel welcome and at home which can be a relief after a lot of traveling. The staff is super friendly and there is amazing opportunities to enjoy the beach and have a surf. Beautiful place that I cant wait to visit again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank Kathryn2384o4932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 km away
TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
9.7 km away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
183 reviews
3.3 km away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
76 reviews
0.8 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Westport
98 reviews
1.1 km away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bazil's Hostel & Surf School? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazil's Hostel & Surf School

Address: 54 / 56 Russell St, Westport, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Westport
Price Range: ₹ 2,801 - ₹ 3,713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bazil's Hostel & Surf School 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bazils on West Coast of the South Island. West Coast NZ - Top 10 Regions in the world to visit for 2014 as rated by Lonely Planet Stay awhile and find out why. We offer a variety of facilities & accommodation to suit everyone. Standard dorm rooms, fully self-contained rooms, twins, doubles & family rooms, powered sites, tent sites. Shared facilities; bathrooms, 2 TV rooms, 2 lounges with lots of Movies, Herb garden, Hammocks, Free sports equipment, bikes, Surfboards for hire, FREE Wifi, Laundry, large outdoor covered BBQ area which is also suitable to store motorbikes and bicycles and lots of quiet garden areas to sit and relax with a nice book. Come take a look - you'll love it. Come try our NEW BUSH BATH, complete with bubbles for winter. :-) STAY, PLAY & SURF WITH US: Stay with us for 5 nights & Receive a FREE SURF LESSON with Board silly at Bazils Hostel Surfing NZ Accredited Surf School, board & wetsuit included. Discounted board & wet suit hire any day you want to practice, Free transport to the beaches. We also have some great Mountain bikes and can arrange drop off & pick up to some great Mountain bike tracks. FREE WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Bazil's Hostel & Surf School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing