We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
311
69
28
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
69
28
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskiwi experiencepaddle boardingfree wifithe kitchennew zealandtv loungebed dormlaid backcheers guysprivate rooma great staycommunal areasawesome placedown to earthsouth islandtauranga baystayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

We found this hostel to be very average in comparison with other hostels we've stayed at in New Zealand. For the same price elsewhere we got a more modern, comfortable double room with an ensuite. There doesn't seem to be enough showers or bathroom facilities when it's busy. It didn't feel very clean either and our bed was very creaky so we didn't sleep that well. On the plus side the owners are very friendly, the kitchen is quite spacious and the wifi is free and can be used on more than one device. Overall, you can get a lot more for the same price elsewhere.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen L, Manager at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Hi there,

Thank you for your review of our Hostel...Sorry our Ensuite room was not modern enough for you we are constantly upgrading our facilities and will do our best ;)...the room has only one shower which is private for you so sorry your own private bathroom was too busy for you...The rest of the hostel has shared facilities with 14 showers and 12 toilets so in future please feel free to use any one you like... You will be happy to know I have fixed the creaky bed...We have a great team of cleaners who carefully and lovingly clean the hostel daily and will do better in the future thanks...

Safe Travels and please come visit again we would love to right our wrongs for you...;)

Steve @ Bazils Hostel & Surf School

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

I have been in this hostel in February and June, for few weeks, and each time was awesome.

You can surf whatever the season, the sea is not so cold, and the wet-suit good quality. I learn so much about surf with Steve, Tom and Pana (instructors). The spots around Westport are very good, and not busy ! It's good, compare to North Island.

The staff is very friendly, the owners cool, and the artists skilled ! Everything there helps to remember it's holiday time ! It's cosy, the room are spacious, the leaving room full of DVD. The nights are quiet (friendly security guy will ask you to), but there is everything one block away for party time !
If you prefer sport activity, rent a bike and try the cost tracks or the old ghost road, a skate and go to the skate park, or ask for the gym next door.

The murals are awesome, it's like everyone give a piece of personality, and the result give you one of the best place to be in New Zealand !

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YoC209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

I've stayed here many times, both for work and privately.

Every time, I have been nothing but impressed. The rooms are large and represent great value for money. The facilities are excellent, and the level of service is class leading.

I've also used the surf school - and its great - despite having never surfed in my life, I was up and standing within an hour.

Great central location. If you are in Westport, book Bazils.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

This was the coolest hostel I have ever been to! It was filled with beautiful artwork from people who have stayed over the years and had the loveliest cozy feeling as it is a remodelled villas. You feel welcome and at home which can be a relief after a lot of traveling. The staff is super friendly and there is amazing opportunities to enjoy the beach and have a surf. Beautiful place that I cant wait to visit again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank Kathryn2384o4932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

The murals are a nice welcome, and the rest of the place is nicely appointed too. The kitchen, rooms and bathrooms are nice and clean. The best feature here is the courtyard with hammocks and greenery, super nice place to enjoy a cup of tea in the morning.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank LindsayandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews