We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
144
66
19
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
66
19
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsromeo and julietconservatory areagreat breakfast the next morningcontinental optionscommunal fridgeb and bmilford soundgreat kiwiwonderful roomquiet streetbreakfast was excellentnew zealandbed and breakfasttown centreenjoyed our stayrooms are comfortablefriendly owners
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We enjoyed 2 great nights at Shakespeare where we were greeted very warmly by Ray upon our arrival. Because we were the first to arrive that night we were put in a wonderful room that was quite spacious with a small garden view. The place was very clean and you could tell they took pride in ownership. The kitchenette was stocked with the basics but you could borrow anything from the main kitchen where Ray cooked a wonderful full breakfast of eggs, bacon, homemade muffins along with cereal, fruit, yogurt and all the other basics. We enjoyed having some great chats with Ray and would recommend this place to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1toppump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We had a long drive to get to Te Anau and were en-route to Milford Sound.

We were greeted by the proprietor Ray who gets the award for the warmest welcome received anywhere on our latest tour of New Zealand.

The B&B is well located near Te Anau Domain where the boating and rugby clubs are located alongside the beautiful Lake Te Anau and is within a short walk of the town centre.

Te Anau was much bigger that we had expected.

We had a pleasant stay at Shakespeare House. The breakfast provided was fantastic and worthy of special note.

Our bedroom was off the main corridor / conservatory, it was clean and tidy. Although the bathroom was small it looked as if it had recently been refurbished. It lacked a shelf or somewhere to put a soap bag or toiletries but other that that it was fine.

The only negative point was that rooms in the row with ours opened directly onto the B&B's main thoroughfare near the entrance meaning that you needed to keep the curtains and internal windows closed if you wanted privacy.

We learnt that the B&B was up for sale so sadly the fantastic Ray and his family would be moving on.

That said it was reasonably price and in a great location so feel sure it will have a great future in the care of its new owners.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bridstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Milford Sound. The house is well situated, a 10 minute walk along the lake to get to the centre of Te Anau.
Our room was spacious and pleasant and it was handy to have use of a communal fridge. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room and guests can also use Ray's kitchen. Laundry facilities are available at a cost of $10.
Breakfast was very well organised and both cooked options were delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Ray "of sunshine" greeted us on arrival and checked us in. He advised us on where to go and where all the restaurants can be found and then we were given "Mid summer night's dream" room. Lovely size room, big bed and ensuite shower room. We had the best night's sleep here. It's an older building so the walls are a little thin. Parking was inside the property. Breakfast cooked by Ray was excellent and there was a huge choice of breads, muffins, cereals and fruit. Juice, tea and coffee in abundance.
Situated a few hundred metres from the lake and the restaurants and shops.
Would recommend this family run B&B and will staying here next time.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Moosie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

We spent 2 nights here and wish we had planned for more. The room (Henry V), was very comfortable. We loved the garden. Sunroom lounge was a great place to relax. It's a short walk to the waterfront, and about 10-15 minutes to the town centre with all the restaurants and shops. Te Anau is such a lovely, sleepy town...great to relax, good gateway to Fiordland. We enjoyed the extensive breakfast. Ray and Kylie and family are terrific hosts. Enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank laxjunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews