We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, cute place with very friendly management”
Review of Shakespeare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shakespeare House
Ranked #5 of 30 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Shakespeare House is on a quiet street about 15 minutes walk from the main shopping street, so it is a little out of the way for people that did not have a car like us. The rooms are arranged around a paved courtyard/parking area and are fairly simple. Management was extremely friendly and helpful and breakfast served on premises was very tasty- it really added to the nice small town experience of Te Anau after the hustle and bustle of Queenstown.

Room Tip: They all open onto a courtyard and are pretty similar, from what we could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jdesmond1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2017

We enjoyed 2 great nights at Shakespeare where we were greeted very warmly by Ray upon our arrival. Because we were the first to arrive that night we were put in a wonderful room that was quite spacious with a small garden view. The place was very clean and you could tell they took pride in ownership. The kitchenette was stocked with the basics but you could borrow anything from the main kitchen where Ray cooked a wonderful full breakfast of eggs, bacon, homemade muffins along with cereal, fruit, yogurt and all the other basics. We enjoyed having some great chats with Ray and would recommend this place to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1toppump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We had a long drive to get to Te Anau and were en-route to Milford Sound.

We were greeted by the proprietor Ray who gets the award for the warmest welcome received anywhere on our latest tour of New Zealand.

The B&B is well located near Te Anau Domain where the boating and rugby clubs are located alongside the beautiful Lake Te Anau and is within a short walk of the town centre.

Te Anau was much bigger that we had expected.

We had a pleasant stay at Shakespeare House. The breakfast provided was fantastic and worthy of special note.

Our bedroom was off the main corridor / conservatory, it was clean and tidy. Although the bathroom was small it looked as if it had recently been refurbished. It lacked a shelf or somewhere to put a soap bag or toiletries but other that that it was fine.

The only negative point was that rooms in the row with ours opened directly onto the B&B's main thoroughfare near the entrance meaning that you needed to keep the curtains and internal windows closed if you wanted privacy.

We learnt that the B&B was up for sale so sadly the fantastic Ray and his family would be moving on.

That said it was reasonably price and in a great location so feel sure it will have a great future in the care of its new owners.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bridstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Milford Sound. The house is well situated, a 10 minute walk along the lake to get to the centre of Te Anau.
Our room was spacious and pleasant and it was handy to have use of a communal fridge. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room and guests can also use Ray's kitchen. Laundry facilities are available at a cost of $10.
Breakfast was very well organised and both cooked options were delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Ray "of sunshine" greeted us on arrival and checked us in. He advised us on where to go and where all the restaurants can be found and then we were given "Mid summer night's dream" room. Lovely size room, big bed and ensuite shower room. We had the best night's sleep here. It's an older building so the walls are a little thin. Parking was inside the property. Breakfast cooked by Ray was excellent and there was a huge choice of breads, muffins, cereals and fruit. Juice, tea and coffee in abundance.
Situated a few hundred metres from the lake and the restaurants and shops.
Would recommend this family run B&B and will staying here next time.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Moosie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.9 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.6 km away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Te Anau Lodge
Te Anau Lodge
#2 of 30 in Te Anau
374 reviews
1.3 km away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
1.6 km away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare House

Address: 10 Dusky St | Fiordland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9680, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range: ₹ 6,935 - ₹ 9,263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakespeare House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 Room bed & breakfast with a reputation for offering guests the personal touch to ensure there stay is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Shakespeare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare House Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing