We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place we have every stayed”
other travellers have booked this property
Cabin frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin frontage
Cabin position on section Cabin and Helicopter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Cabin frontage
Cabin position on section
Cabin and Helicopter
Sunset on the deck.
Cabin Kitchen
Cabin Dining
Lounge
Looking down into lounge
Main Bedroom
Bathroom
Washing Machine and Dryer
Mezzanine floor Kingsize bed
King Single bed on Mezzanine floor
Stairs
Cabin in the snow
Cabin with Rocco enjoying the snow
Rocco with the horses
The Sheep
Rocco in the snow
Sunrise in Te Anau
Manapouri and the Takitimu Mts
Rocco at our local park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, Southland Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Petrina P
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place we have every stayed”
Reviewed 19 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Hollows lovely log cabin and cannot begin to describe how wonderful our stay was. The cabin is amazing, beautifully set out with all the comforts of home. The views from every window are incredible, and being on a country property, very quiet and relaxing.

Pam and Mark were so friendly and made us feel so welcome. We never wanted to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything about the log cabin was wonderful.
Liked least: it was fantastic, we have no negatives
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumedha K
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant property- stay for longer if you can!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We are a family of 4 adults and one infant who stayed at the log cabin for 2 nights. It's a 5 mins drive from the city centre and though this is not a lakefront property, it couldnt possibly get more charming. The cabin is very well equipped- right from the durables and cutlery to the consumables (toiletries, detergent etc.), everything is top notch. Pam even arranged for a baby bath tub and a high chair for my little one!
Only piece of advice is to stay here for more nights to really enjoy the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it was a log cabin- have never stayed in one before!
Liked least: wi-fi was a bit erratic.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacckkk
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great spot”
Reviewed 18 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The Hollows in Te Anau was one of the highlights of a great trip. The cabin is in a stunning location on the edge of town. A very peaceful corner of the world.

Cabin is well appointed & the owner made us feel very welcome. We can't wait to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: I couldn't fault it
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay. Thank you. Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macb69
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in New Zealand”
Reviewed 15 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The Hollows was the best place we stayed during our New Zealand holiday. All the little extras that were included (especially the wine and cheese) were greatfully appreciated and helped to make our holiday more memorable. Even my 3 travel weary teenage boys were impressed and would have like to have stayed longer.
The location is stunning and is located just out of Te Anau. A great place to stay if you are exploring the area and want more than standard hotel/self contained accomodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accomodation, the location and the service.
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2012
We were so pleased to have you stay, be lovely to see you again. Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Apr 2012
It was a pleasure to have you, looking forward to your next visit.
Thanks
Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing