We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pies and Sausage Rolls”
Review of Miles Better Pies

Miles Better Pies
Ranked #3 of 8 Quick Bites in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Reviewed 22 March 2016

My Kiwi friend constantly says that NZ has better pies than Australia..... and this shop proved them right.

The mince pies were very delicious and packed full of meat. Delicious crust and the sausage rolls taste homemade quality.

My eyes nearly popped out of my head when I saw the price but when you consider this almost as meal that will definitely fill you up than it is not so bad.

I had to give this a review because it was a memorable feed I experienced twice in my visit in Te Anau.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Burnside1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 365 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

I have to admit is us my very first pie ever, because I never felt tempted pie thus 'construct', but this place is supposed to offer one of the best pies in NZ, and I would simply agree, even though my sample space is so small.
Their Venison is terrific (I am not so much into meat), the pie dough us excellent, light, fluffy, crispy as a pie dough should be.
Great stop in your way to or from Milford Sounds.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Brosiladas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2016

These pies are the best. So full of meat and not full of gelatine or gravy...just yummy venison. Pastry is delicious too.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emcee1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

By brother picked up this establishment on Trip Advisor so we had to try one. Only a few tables indoor and outdoor, but very tasty pies and great coffee. No sooner than we arrived so did a coachload of tourists

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank DavidGA986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Yes, the coffee is terrible and the staff could be more pleasant....but....the pies are fantastic! They are packed with tasty meat and fillings. If you are not a meat eater then look elsewhere because the vegetarian pie needs a lot of work; but the apple blueberry is marvelous and the date sconce is to die for...the line goes out the door most of the day with hordes of people lining up and waiting for pies. It seems as if the locals are just as fond of the pies as the tourists are....it is definitely worth waiting in line. I would not call this a restaurant...

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank amovablefeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miles Better Pies also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Miles Better Pies? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing