We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 Star stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sou'West Cottage

Welcome to Sou'West Cottage. Private, warm and comfortable.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Sou'West Cottage. Private, warm and comfortable.
Kitchen with Kettle, toaster, microwave, electric frying pan, coffee plunger, tea pot. Kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Welcome to Sou'West Cottage. Private, warm and comfortable.
Kitchen with Kettle, toaster, microwave, electric frying pan, coffee plunger, tea pot.
Kitchen area
Super king comfortable and warm bed. Can also be split into 2 singles if requested
Comfortable leather lounge suite
Dining area and TV
Morning sun streaming in to the lounge. Lovely garden views.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, Southland Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tim G
1 review
“5 Star stay”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

When we arrived we where warmly welcomed by Sacha then joined by Gareth and we where invited into the cottage. It is well appointed ,warm ,comfortable ,and quite and...there were two free beers in the fridge!! We were very impressed with their genuine and honest hospitality . The accommodation offered was 5 star. We recommend this as the place to stay in Te Anau...we will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thank you for your feedback Tim G. It was really nice to meet you both and we are very pleased you had a comfortable stay with us here at Sou'West Cottage.
Safe travels and hopefully we will see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alandaman...
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Warm, cosy, sunny cottage close to all Fiordland has to offer”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our hosts Sacha and Gareth and their two kids welcomed us with open arms. The cottage was warm and sunny. Great heating. Comfy bed. Good shower. Great little kitchenette. Comfortable leather lounges. Lovely sunny bay window facing north on a lovely little hobby farm a stones throw from the Te Anau township. We even got a tour of the little farm and met all the animals. Gareth prepared a superb platter of freshly caught Milford Sound crayfish as a complimentary "hello" gift. Each evening on our return to the cottage after a day of sightseeing we were met with a warm and inviting cottage to relax in. All the luxuries of home with extras. Thanks for your hospitality and knowledge of the area. We will be back for sure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your time doing this.
We are very pleased you had a good comfortable stay with us here at Sou'West Cottage. We strive to make our guests as welcome and comfortable as possible.
Thank you again and hope to see you again. All the best Sacha and Gareth.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam L
1 review
“Perfect stay in Te Anau”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Writing a first review just to recommend the Sou'West Cottage, which is independently run by Sacha and Gareth but would best most other accommodations out there in terms of how thoughtful and welcoming they are for their guests. The unit is spacious and private separated from their home, with all the bathroom and kitchen amenities you would expect from a serviced apartment, and on top of that - complimentary beers and breakfast was a nice surprise after a long drive and before the next day's activity. Super comfortable bed and living room. Sacha and Gareth and family were very welcoming and had a lot of knowledge about sights and activities in the area. Just a great experience overall.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2018
Hello Sam. Thank you for your feedback, it is always appreciated.
We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and to know we have got a good product for our guests. It was nice meeting you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal5838
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Peaceful Place. Just Go There”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Mar 2017 Peter and Neal

This accommodation is just wonderful and
quiet and handy to Te Anau. The environment is rural and peaceful with a spacious cottage. The hosts are very knowledgeable and well connected with local attractions. We have no hesitation in recommending this as an excellent place to stay . truly restful in keeping with the ambience of Te Anau.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarryDyet
1 review
“Sou'West Cottage and its hosts exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 16 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This accommodation is well appointed, quiet and handy to Te Anau. The environment is rural, with a number of friendly animals, and deer just over the fence. The hosts warm and welcoming, are very knowledgeable and well connected with local attractions. We have no hesitation in recommending this as an excellent place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 153
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing