We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allan - Adelaide” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Peaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Peaks Lodge
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Mt Barker
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Allan - Adelaide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We recently spent two nights here and was most impressed with all aspects of the motel. Starting with the reception staff who were most helpful and friendly and extending to the room which was a single bedroom unit and very spacious. It contained everything that we required and the bathroom was also well appointed and clean. Location wise, it was easy to find and only a short walk to the town center. We travelled New Zealand for three weeks with another couple and all agreed that this was the best accommodation of the entire trip. We recommend it highly .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllanAdelaide3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    145
    54
    9
    7
See reviews for
74
134
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I booked here for 6 nights and it was a great place to stay only 4 minutes walk to town.Great vies of the city.Staff were very friendly and helpful.The rooms were nicely set out.

Room Tip: I had a corner room and floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire071972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Peremptory treatment by a rude manager;
Negative answers from the staff to every request;
Consignment to a basement room facing an ugly carport;
Rooms reeking of liquid toilet bowl cleaner left in the scrubber container for your "convenience";
Barebones room improvements with last remodel's furniture and bed covers.

Yes, it's a short walk to the action in Queenstown but this in no way justifies the second rate accommodations or the attitude. Our two night stay at Blue Peaks was the absolute low point of our three week stay in New Zealand. Fortunately, the remainder of our lodgings were much, much better.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a view--if you don't you'll wish you had. Better yet, book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank axisstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluepeaks, Front Office Manager at Blue Peaks Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
We are really sad that you feel you had a negative experience at Blue Peaks Lodge.
Our staff members are often noted on this site for their warmth and willingness to help our guests enjoy their stay.
We also pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and are currently completing refurbishments of the majority of our guest rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We booked two apartments for two nights 20/01/12. On arrival we found that the apartments were not near together but the smell in each one was sickening. It was difficult to determine what was causing the smell but it was so strong that we decided to move to another hotel. The apartments did not have a balcony and are not four star by any stretch of the imagination, resembling a prison block with each doorway located along walkways. We moved to a far superior four star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynneandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluepeaks, Front Office Manager at Blue Peaks Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
We have reviewed our cleaning practices with regards to the issue raised in this review. The majority of our trip advisor reviews comment on the cleanliness of the guest rooms and we work hard to ensure high standards of housekeeping at Blue Peaks Lodge.

We understand that sometimes there is a confusion between our 2 properties: Blue Peaks Lodge & Blue Peaks Apartments, and that there can sometimes be a misunderstanding about what type of ‘unit’ or ‘apartment’ has been booked with an agent.

Should a room not be what was expected, we are always more than happy to offer our guests the option of upgrading to our sister property, Blue Peaks Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Even though the hotel has suites in a newer buiilding, they put us up in a very old fashioned room that needs an update after looking as a unit from 1960.

The room was clean, except for suspicious blond long hairs in the bed... Bathroom clean, but just as old fashioned as the rest of where they put us...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myrcou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluepeaks, Front Office Manager at Blue Peaks Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
We are currently completing a refurbishment of the majority of our guest rooms that includes a complete repaint of each room, new sofas, curtains and bedspreads as well as an updated and modern feel to each room. Many guests have positively commented on these changes and our housekeeping staff work hard to maintain our high standards of cleanliness.

We are sorry that in this instance there was a rare drop in the standard of housekeeping for this guest. We just wish that we had been informed of the situation earlier, as obviously we will always endeavour to do everything possible to rectify a problem there and then
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 km away
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
#32 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 km away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.5 km away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,977 reviews
0.1 km away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#17 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.3 km away
Queenstown Motel Apartments
Queenstown Motel Apartments
#33 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Peaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Peaks Lodge

Property: Blue Peaks Lodge
Address: 11 Sydney Street | Cnr Stanley & Sydney Streets, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#32 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,440 - ₹ 16,560
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Peaks Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright, modern motel accommodation in 1 & 2 bedroom or studio units, most with kitchen facilities. All of our clean and comfortable guest rooms have ensuite bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities, Sky Digital TV and complimentary 500mb WiFi internet. Ideal family accommodation and one child under 5 years stays free. Two bedroom wheelchair accessible unit (sleeps up to 4). Blue Peaks has an on-site guest laundry and a friendly reception team available from 07:30 - 22:00 hours. We also offer free off-street parking, free DVD hire, luggage and cycle storage and daily room servicing. We can serve a continental breakfast to your room. Blue Peaks Lodge is conveniently located an easy 5 minutes walk from the centre of Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Peaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Peaks Hotel Queenstown
Blue Peaks Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing