We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loving in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loving in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Great owner really helpful and friendly.
The room has got everything u ever need :)
I will rate it for 5 star

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    69
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
161
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Whistler for 4 nights in March-April 2012. It's location is great, only a 5 minute walk from the Queenstown CBD. We stayed in room 19, and we found the room to be neat, tidy, and well presented. The hosts were both very friendly and helpful.
My only criticisms would include:
1. Having a dining table in the lounge room (It's great to have a kitchen area to prepare a nice dinner, it's a shame that there isn't anywhere to eat it other than the couch).
2. The room could have been serviced better (we never had the bed made and the kitchen could have been wiped clean from time to time).
Other than these 2 points, we found our stay very positive and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for three nights at the end of March. It was clean, comfortable and pleasant.Nice outlook of the mountain and the gondola. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Busy road during the day but very quiet at night. Extremely reasonable rates. Easy flat walk to town.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Movaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

The new managers (about 18 months) Wayne and Jan are true gems! And they themselves make sure the rooms are spot on. Easy walking distance over the sport greens to town, there is no parking in town so that is excellent to leave the car here. Nothing is far from there. Road in front is very busy (a main thoroughfare), but not at night, so no problems for sleeping. Apartments are fresh, clean, well maintained, fully equipped (dishwasher, microwave, overn, fridge freezer - yes, Wayne is gradually changing those fridge doors to open more easily), not the best views but still great views (best views elsewhere cost a lot more and are often lower standard rooms for the $s). I sure will be back again, and again, and again.

Room Tip: I dont think they have any rooms "less good" - was well designed that all rooms have reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in early Feb 2012. I had room 18 which was on the top floor and faced the town and gondola. The unit was well equiped with a kitchen, large bathroom and was extremely clean. It had a large balcony with outdoor setting and great views. The road directly out front is very busy but I did not find it a problem, it was quiet at night and the bedroom was at the rear of the unit. It was about a 5 minute walk to both Queenstown Central and the gondola, there was a supermarket very close to buy all the essentials. The management were very friendly and helpful. It's not a 5 star resort with pools, spas and 24 hour reception. It is simply an apartment complex with management reception open from 7am to 7pm. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieGlennB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.6 km away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
2.4 km away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
3.9 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.7 km away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
2.7 km away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#34 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown

Property: Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Address: Corner Gorge Road | PO Box 221, Queenstown 9999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,546 - ₹ 16,180
Hotel Class:4 star — Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing