We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location. Nothing to fault. What more could you ask for!?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great location, great service, nice rooms, what more could you ask for!?

Stayed: May 2011
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,263 - 2,267 of 3,197 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stasma
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 April 2012

One of the best and most central hotels in QT. Excellant rooms, great service, happy hour and good food. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Top floor with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpy9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012


I had checked in to Novotel Queenstown Hotel on 22nd April at about 440pm.
Upon arrival, there was no welcome for me except for the brazilian couple who were behind me.

Upon entering the room, there was a very strong smell of smoke. Called reception to inform about it. She said that it is a non-smokong hotel and not possible. Instead of giving me a room change, she got housekeeping to do some odour removal and leaving the balcony door open. Housekeeping lady who came to do it, also smelt the smoke odour. I left the room for the cleaning to be done as well as to take in the sights of Queenstown.
When I came back at about 9pm, the smoke smell was still lingering! I couldn't take it anymore and called reception for a room change without any hesistation. The guy who answered and handled thereafter was prompt and understanding with no questions asked. He even had a few rooms for me to choose from. However, as I was too tired from my 8hrs bus ride from Franz Josef to here, I chose the first room which had a garden view. My main concern was to get an odourless smoke room and to rest too as I was getting very tired.
A staff came by to assist me by bringing the new card keys as well.

Finally, I was delighted to be able to rest and sleep. However, as the weather was very cold, I turned the heater on and it was very noisy!! What are the odds! By then, I was way too tired to inform reception and request for another room change. Thus I endured it and could not sleep well the entire night due to the noise. The next morning I informed reception on it and requested for it to be checked. It is still noisy and not sure if anything has been done.

As I have some extra activities on hand to do and want to spend more time in this beautiful Queenstown, I decided to extend a night's stay here (even though so much has happened) due to convenience rather than preference. When I called to ask on the extension based on the rate I got earlier, the duty manager refused to give me the same rate that I booked for!! I do not see the reason why they cannot do it when they did it initially as well and also when I checked in I had informed the staff on it whom said it can be done at the same rate! In addition, Why should I be paying more for something which is of bad standard.
Thus, I'm currently searching for other accommodation to extend instead of here even though the inconvenience(s) is there.

The irony of this Novotel experienve was that I was recommended to the Accor group of hotels by my boss who is an Accor and Advanatge Plus faithful member. I had even signed up for the Accor member during my Sydney stay in Ibiz 3 weeks before. Looks like the Ibiz fared better than Novotel Queenstown, even though it was smaller in size and basics only.

RK

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RxKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novqt, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thanks for advising us of the issues that you faced on a recent stay at our Hotel. It is our aim to have all of our guests happy with their stay so it is disappointing to hear of these issues.

The Hotel is 100% non smoking and this is managed as much as possible by our team. On the very rare occasion that a guest is inconsiderate enough to ignore this request it is normal for us to rectify this by using the methods described - using an ozone machine and opening the outside door to air the room out. This is normally enough to get the room back into service and we would normally not allocate a room that had this issue until it was rectified.

From what you have stated it would appear that this was not the case in this instance and we apologise that this was the case.

In regards to charging a different price than originally paid it is a little difficult without knowing the details of your booking - if you were booked through a third party there would definitely be a difference in price. The Hotel aslo has prices that change from day to day depending on a number of factors - these rates are displayed on our websites and are quoted exactly the same on the desk. It is possible that the date you were trying to book had a different rate than previous dates.

We have many very satisfied Advantage Plus members who support us well both for the accommodation discounts as well as the rsetaurant discounts they receive. It is great to hear that your boss has had many good experiences particularly at the Ibis in Sydney.

Thanks again for your comments - these will be reviewed by the team to make sure that we work hard not to let these inconveniences occur for future guests.

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Arrived for a 1 night stay with another couple. Check in staff member was great, very friendly and shared a joke with us while she checked us in. Was very helpful when asked about options for carparking for 2 cars. Upgraded us to next room level on top floor at no extra cost.
Room was nice and warm and smelt very refreshing. Bedding was nice and fresh.
Anytime we asked at desk for information etc we were trteated well and staff were very informed.
We had dinner at hotel and were taken when we arrived at our booked time. Food was great as was the wine selection. Waiting staff did a good job and food was first class. Restaurant was busy but we were looked after and were not rushed out.

Room Tip: Try and get top floor as views are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nohjtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelManagement, Director of Sales at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent stay at Novotel Queenstown and your lovely feedback, it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and dinner with us and I have shared your positive comments with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Queenstown Lakeside in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,476 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.9 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Queenstown Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Address: Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: ₹ 9,057 - ₹ 20,330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Queenstown Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most picturesque settings in the world, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside combines a stunning lakefront and in-town position with attentive professional service. Just 30 seconds from the cosmopolitan town centre and Queenstown's iconic activities, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is the perfect hotel to start your Queenstown experience.The fresh, modern hotel offers 273 accommodation rooms with spectacular alpine, garden and lake views. Each contemporary styled room features LCD TV, mini bar, 24 hour room service, broadband internet and private balconies. Conveniently located on the mezzanine level, Elements Restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast and an innovative New Zealand influenced a la carte dinner menu featuring an eclectic mix of modern dishes using the best of New Zealand produce. Guests can also choose to relax and re-energise in our ground floor Elements Cafe & Bar which features comfortable lounge furniture and a double sided schist stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Queenstown Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel Queenstown
Novotel Gardens Queenstown
Queenstown Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing