We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No place like it on south island”
Review of Pencarrow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pencarrow
Ranked #36 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No place like it on south island”
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Our third glorious visit to this palace catered to our every whim. The hospitality was second to none and the help and local info priceless. We always enjoyed tours and places to visit on their recommendations. Cannot emphasise more on the friendliness, comfort and cleanliness. There were even gatherings of guests at the bar to take up slack time. We were indeed royalty as were all the other guests. Breakfasts were unique and the portions large with no limits. Kari and Bill were the perfect hosts and Pencarrow will always be our place in Queenstown, NZ, They even dished out surprises mornings and bedtimes.
Well done, Kari and Bill. We will be back

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adena9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    1
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
95
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cazenovia, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Nothing was overlooked at Pencarrow to make our stay absolute perfection. Bill and Kari are warm and gracious hosts who made it difficult to say goodby to Queensland and continue our travels through New Zealand. Be prepared to have the best breakfast you've ever been served!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkh817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2011

My wife and I spent the first three days of our honeymoon in New Zealand at Pencarrow in December 2009. Out of pure laziness I never posted a review, but after I saw that Pencarrow was not ranked in the top 10 B&B's in the South Pacific by Trip Advisor, I had to speak up. This place is remarkable! Bill and Kari are two of the most gracious hosts we have ever encountered. Every morning Bill would call the airport for us to see if our flight to Milford Sound was going to actually happen (it never did), but they went through nearly every brochure and activity with us to help find an alternative. They recommended a scenic drive to the town of Glenorchy and this turned out to be one of our favorite experiences in the two and a half weeks we were in the county.

Bill and Kari are the type of hosts that truly care about their guest's complete experiences, they provide a level of personal attention that is rare, even at the finest hotels and B&B's. In fact, I believe they have tried almost every activity in the area (I still don't think Bill has bungee jumped) . They took the time to get to know us and our interests and helped us make Queenstown one of the greatest experiences of our lives. We can't wait to go back!

Lastly, the breakfast and afternoon treats are incredible, they alone might just be worth the stay. The amazing views, amazing accommodations, and outdoor fireplace are just added benefits to this exceptional B&B

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seekNadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

My wife and I spent two wonderful nights (far too few!) at Pencarrow in the middle of our 10 day trip to the South Island of New Zealand in January of this year... In short, Pencarrow is far and away the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at anywhere in the world. Bill and Kari (the hosts) are unbelievable both in their knowledge of the area, their willingness to go above and beyond in taking care of their guests and, quite simply, just being awesome people to hang out with. There are a million little touches and surprises they do each day that are above and beyond anything we have experienced (we won't ruin the surprise of what they are, but it's great!). Simply put, Pencarrow was far and away the highlight of our trip to New Zealand and until we return we will be dreaming of sipping great wine while taking in the view and chatting with such wonderful people.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, WI.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at Pencarrow a couple years ago and it was undoubtedly the nicest place we had ever been! On a recent trip back to New Zealand I treated my family to a 4 night stay. I rented all 4 gorgeous suites, giving my parents the one we had stayed in (The Silver Fern). It was the highlite of the trip and my family cannot stop talking about it! Besides the attention to detail in every regard, Kari and Bill's gracious hospitality is second to none! Heaven on earth! DeAnne Blazek, Waukesha, WI.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCBwaukesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.3 km away
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
9.4 km away
Speargrass Rise Bed and Breakfast
7.0 km away
Hidden Lodge
Hidden Lodge
#11 of 43 in Queenstown
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
No photo provided
20.8 km away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#2 of 43 in Queenstown
185 reviews
3.1 km away
Chalet Queenstown
Chalet Queenstown
#5 of 43 in Queenstown
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencarrow? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencarrow

Property: Pencarrow
Address: 678 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,703 - ₹ 26,950
Hotel Class:5 star — Pencarrow 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pencarrow is an all-suite country estate 2 miles from Queenstown offering 4 acres of elegance with stunning views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables. Suites have sitting room, free WiFi (iPads in every suite), writing desk, magazines/books, mini bar, tea/coffee facilities, homemade sweets, fresh flowers, Flat Screens and Sky (cable) television, iPod docking stations, direct-dial phones, iron/ironing board. En-suites equipped with oversized jet spa bath, separate shower, double vanity, heated towel rail, under-tile heating, hair dryer, bathrobes, slippers, guest amenity basket. Outdoors many sitting decks/patios, fireplace, spa pool, waterfall, tree, plant, and flower species. Indoors plenty of space and privacy. Guest lounge/bar with fireplace, concierge/library room, snooker/games room, incredible views. Breakfast is a 4 course full on affair each morning at your personally requested time. Welcome gift, afternoon “sweet in the suite”, drinks/mini bar, and all taxes included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pencarrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing