We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The absolute best experience!”
Review of Pencarrow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pencarrow
Ranked #37 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Berrien Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The absolute best experience!”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

WOW!! What can I say that hasn't already been said in the other reviews? Unbelievably delicious & filling gourmet breakfasts - the food just kept on coming! Breathtaking views of the lake & mountains from each room. Not a speck of dust anywhere. Kari & Bill are incredibly helpful in booking & planning excursions & dinner reservations. We were definitely spoiled by every facet of our stay, from chatting with Bill in the evening around the fire on the patio, to the perfectly polished silver service at breakfast, to the little New Zealand mementos in our room each day. Relaxing, welcoming, friendly, outstanding! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    1
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
95
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Our every expectation was exceeded by Bill and Kari's Pencarrow B&B. Our tower room overlooking the lake was enormous; the bed was perfect; there was a homemade snack every afternoon and a small Kiwi keepsake on the pillow each night. But what was unforgettable was breakfast. Kari warned us that she served a "full on" breakfast and she meant it. Three courses each morning--fruit, an egg speciality and a pancake or waffle finale--all accompanied by homemade sweets, fresh juice and jams. We never needed lunch. All of this was made more pleasurable by the genuine warmth and helpfulness of our hosts. Just a first rate experience. One note--if you are driving look for your landmarks because the entrance can be hard to find at night.

Room Tip: We had the room on the top floor with the tower. It was beautiful. We did not see the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Pencarrow. The hosts are so welcoming and helpful. We felt like we were at home. Our room was gorgeous. The views were breathtaking! The gourmet breakfasts were beyond delicious!!! We had homemade desserts in our room every afternoon. Not one thing could have been better. We hated to leave. I hope we can come back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaliBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I didn't think it was possible to deliver this level of service. We felt almost guilty experiencing it :). Bill and Kari are lovely and amazing people. A stay we'll never forget.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I spent 4 days of our honeymoon at Pencarrow and it was the highlight of our trip. Forget what you think you know about B&Bs, Pencarrow is in a class all its own. Bill and Kari are the nicest, most hospitable people I've ever met. They instantly make their home, your home. Kari's 4 course breakfasts are out of this world - a true feast. She is not only a tremendous chef, but a fantastic concierge. Extremely organized and full of ideas, she made sure we made the most of our time in Queenstown.
The accommodations are beautifully appointed and immaculate. Our room was spacious and luxurious and looked out on the fabulous Lake Wakatipu and "Remarkables." I can't say enough wonderful things about Pencarrow, it is an absolute treasure and a "must" if you're headed to Queenstown.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.2 km away
Hurley's of Queenstown
Hurley's of Queenstown
#33 of 58 in Queenstown
393 reviews
2.2 km away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
540 reviews
7.0 km away
Hidden Lodge
Hidden Lodge
#14 of 43 in Queenstown
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Cherish Bed and Breakfast
Cherish Bed and Breakfast
#34 of 43 in Queenstown
2 reviews
0.3 km away
No photo provided
3.3 km away
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencarrow? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencarrow

Property: Pencarrow
Address: 678 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,922 - ₹ 22,643
Hotel Class:5 star — Pencarrow 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pencarrow is an all-suite country estate 2 miles from Queenstown offering 4 acres of elegance with stunning views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables. Suites have sitting room, free WiFi (iPads in every suite), writing desk, magazines/books, mini bar, tea/coffee facilities, homemade sweets, fresh flowers, Flat Screens and Sky (cable) television, iPod docking stations, direct-dial phones, iron/ironing board. En-suites equipped with oversized jet spa bath, separate shower, double vanity, heated towel rail, under-tile heating, hair dryer, bathrobes, slippers, guest amenity basket. Outdoors many sitting decks/patios, fireplace, spa pool, waterfall, tree, plant, and flower species. Indoors plenty of space and privacy. Guest lounge/bar with fireplace, concierge/library room, snooker/games room, incredible views. Breakfast is a 4 course full on affair each morning at your personally requested time. Welcome gift, afternoon “sweet in the suite”, drinks/mini bar, and all taxes included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pencarrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing