We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
153
142
69
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
142
69
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen bed dorm fridge space private room in town great facilities bus stop new zealand ten minute walk power points lounge area routeburn track free wifi common areas lake wakatipu south island stayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We had a really outstanding stay at this hostel. It's one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Great location. Beautiful views and close enough to walk to the town center. It was very clean. The reception staff were very helpful. The kitchen was kitted out really well and so were the bedrooms including chargers and lights attached to each dorm bed. Overall I was extremely impressed with this place. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 861tarrynw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post these lovely comments about our hostel.

We are really glad that you enjoyed our newly refurbished facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back here again.

Kind regards, Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

We had a brilliant 4 nights here! The facilities are excellent and the room we had was new alongside the showers and toilets! Very nice! The staff were all welcoming and chatty. Eve helped us plan our 4 nights and 5 days with a great selection of activities which we loved and saved us the drive to stay in Te Anau by booking an excellent day trip instead. It was a long day but saved us the driving! Great views from the kitchen and easy walk to town (but away from the noise which is great!). Really recommend!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank laurapG5825NQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Laura,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments about our hostel. I'm so glad that Eve was able to help you and I agree that we have a such a great team working here.

We love the views from our kitchen too which is why we chose to install the awesome bar leaner where you can sit and admire the lake and mountains. We hope to see you back here some day.

Kind regards. Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

New facilities, wonderful staff, awesome location. Highly recommend this as a place to stay.
I met some great people during my stay. The communal kitchen and entertainment areas facilitated this.
I had been concerned about noisy room mates but they were just like me so we all had a great night sleep.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BenW4393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Ben,

I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our newly refurbished hostel. We love the location too which is not far from town at all yet is in a unique position right opposite Lake Wakatipu.

We hope to see you back here some day.

Kind regards. Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Perfect relaxing Queenstown location.

Great views, with good facilities. The staff are brilliant, and have good advise as to what to do when in town.

There is a designated secure drying area to store skis, boots, snowboards etc, so you will not need to bring them inside the hostel.

A short walk to the center of town, which never was too far, even at the end of day up on the mountains enjoying the peaks.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mattcorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Matt,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about our hostel.

It's great to hear that you really made good use of our facilities and that they suited your needs as a skiier/snowboarder. I'm also happy to hear that you liked our wonderful team and that they contributed to your nice stay.

We look forward to hosting you again some time!

Kind regards. Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We booked to stay in a private room to catch up on sleep due to such a long journey. The room is small but very clean, comfy bed and well heated. There is good storage and plenty of charging points. Free wifi. The kitchen is big with plenty of utensils. The bathrooms are clean and the showers are lovely. The location is about 10 minutes walk from the main town but the walk itself is beautiful along the lake and the brows are beautiful from the hostel. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank aholding2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Kia Ora,
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments about our hostel. We are glad that you appreciate our newly refurbished facilities and unique location. We hope to see you back here again.

Kind regards, Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews