We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

We had a brilliant 4 nights here! The facilities are excellent and the room we had was new alongside the showers and toilets! Very nice! The staff were all welcoming and chatty. Eve helped us plan our 4 nights and 5 days with a great selection of activities which we loved and saved us the drive to stay in Te Anau by booking an excellent day trip instead. It was a long day but saved us the driving! Great views from the kitchen and easy walk to town (but away from the noise which is great!). Really recommend!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Laura,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments about our hostel. I'm so glad that Eve was able to help you and I agree that we have a such a great team working here.

We love the views from our kitchen too which is why we chose to install the awesome bar leaner where you can sit and admire the lake and mountains. We hope to see you back here some day.

Kind regards. Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

New facilities, wonderful staff, awesome location. Highly recommend this as a place to stay.
I met some great people during my stay. The communal kitchen and entertainment areas facilitated this.
I had been concerned about noisy room mates but they were just like me so we all had a great night sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Ben,

I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our newly refurbished hostel. We love the location too which is not far from town at all yet is in a unique position right opposite Lake Wakatipu.

We hope to see you back here some day.

Kind regards. Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Perfect relaxing Queenstown location.

Great views, with good facilities. The staff are brilliant, and have good advise as to what to do when in town.

There is a designated secure drying area to store skis, boots, snowboards etc, so you will not need to bring them inside the hostel.

A short walk to the center of town, which never was too far, even at the end of day up on the mountains enjoying the peaks.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mattcorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Matt,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about our hostel.

It's great to hear that you really made good use of our facilities and that they suited your needs as a skiier/snowboarder. I'm also happy to hear that you liked our wonderful team and that they contributed to your nice stay.

We look forward to hosting you again some time!

Kind regards. Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We booked to stay in a private room to catch up on sleep due to such a long journey. The room is small but very clean, comfy bed and well heated. There is good storage and plenty of charging points. Free wifi. The kitchen is big with plenty of utensils. The bathrooms are clean and the showers are lovely. The location is about 10 minutes walk from the main town but the walk itself is beautiful along the lake and the brows are beautiful from the hostel. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank aholding2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Kia Ora,
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments about our hostel. We are glad that you appreciate our newly refurbished facilities and unique location. We hope to see you back here again.

Kind regards, Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Beautiful location, on the lake front of Lake Wakatipu, Large kitchen, friendly and welcoming staff. Not too far from the busy centre of Queenstown. One of the best hostels I've stayed at on my travels of New Zealand!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Joel,

Thank you for posting your awesome feedback. We too love our newly refurbished hostel and I'm happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and welcoming. We hope to see you back here again in the future.

Kind regards, Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
6.2 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#19 of 93 in Queenstown
215 reviews
1.0 km away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 93 in Queenstown
377 reviews
1.2 km away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
380 reviews
1.3 km away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#6 of 93 in Queenstown
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Queenstown Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Queenstown Lakefront

Address: 88 - 90 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: ₹ 1,382 - ₹ 4,546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Queenstown Lakefront 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience the beauty and excitement of Queenstown but still get a good night’s sleep, then YHA Queenstown Lakefront is the hostel for you – and it’s only a 10 minute walk into town. A comfortable fully equipped hostel sitting right on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, offering stunning views of the lake and Remarkables mountain range. The hostel includes a drying room for ski & tramping gear and dedicated snowboard, ski & bike storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Queenstown Lakefront Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing