We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 250
US$ 222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$ 214
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$ 163
US$ 149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$ 171
US$ 152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Mercure Resort Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$ 113
US$ 103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 183
US$ 164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Heritage Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$ 132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$ 225
US$ 148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaks Shores(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$ 154
US$ 141
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$ 100
US$ 88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
145
139
67
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
139
67
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenfree spicesfridge spacebed dormcommunal facilitiestv loungebig hostelprivate roomgreat facilitiesbus stopin townwifi worked wellluggage storagepots and pansreception staff were very helpfulnew zealandquiet area
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

New facilities, wonderful staff, awesome location. Highly recommend this as a place to stay.
I met some great people during my stay. The communal kitchen and entertainment areas facilitated this.
I had been concerned about noisy room mates but they were just like me so we all had a great night sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Ben,

I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our newly refurbished hostel. We love the location too which is not far from town at all yet is in a unique position right opposite Lake Wakatipu.

We hope to see you back here some day.

Kind regards. Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Perfect relaxing Queenstown location.

Great views, with good facilities. The staff are brilliant, and have good advise as to what to do when in town.

There is a designated secure drying area to store skis, boots, snowboards etc, so you will not need to bring them inside the hostel.

A short walk to the center of town, which never was too far, even at the end of day up on the mountains enjoying the peaks.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mattcorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Matt,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about our hostel.

It's great to hear that you really made good use of our facilities and that they suited your needs as a skiier/snowboarder. I'm also happy to hear that you liked our wonderful team and that they contributed to your nice stay.

We look forward to hosting you again some time!

Kind regards. Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We booked to stay in a private room to catch up on sleep due to such a long journey. The room is small but very clean, comfy bed and well heated. There is good storage and plenty of charging points. Free wifi. The kitchen is big with plenty of utensils. The bathrooms are clean and the showers are lovely. The location is about 10 minutes walk from the main town but the walk itself is beautiful along the lake and the brows are beautiful from the hostel. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank aholding2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Kia Ora,
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments about our hostel. We are glad that you appreciate our newly refurbished facilities and unique location. We hope to see you back here again.

Kind regards, Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Beautiful location, on the lake front of Lake Wakatipu, Large kitchen, friendly and welcoming staff. Not too far from the busy centre of Queenstown. One of the best hostels I've stayed at on my travels of New Zealand!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Joel,

Thank you for posting your awesome feedback. We too love our newly refurbished hostel and I'm happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and welcoming. We hope to see you back here again in the future.

Kind regards, Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Great room and big kitchen / lounge space. Wonderful reception staff and good laundry service available. The hostel is a little bit of a walk from town but otherwise good. The free food box was full of wonders

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank katy_thomas_1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Katy,

I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at hostel. We are very proud of our newly refurbished hostel and also love our unique location which is a short walk to town past the beautiful lakefront.

We hope that you come to stay with us again.

Kind regards. Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews