We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
148
141
68
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
141
68
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen free spices fridge space bed dorm communal facilities tv lounge big hostel private room great facilities bus stop in town luggage storage wifi worked well pots and pans reception staff were very helpful new zealand quiet area
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2017

The hostel was very busy at the end of the day and it was a challenge to find a parking spot and to get registered. The rooms were very basic and did not have private bathrooms. The hostel has a large kitchen, dining area that is very accessible and a lounge that is busy in the evenings but comfortable, Very reasonable price if you have a YHA card.

Room Tip: Find a room close to a bathroom if possible.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Ken,

Thank you for your feedback about our hostel. We currently have a large part of the hostel closed for refurbishment and our builders are having to use up three parking spots to work from so I do understand your frustration.

However, there are free parking spaces on the road just outside the hostel that our guests can use. After the refurbishment, we will have six new private en-suite rooms so we are looking forward to the completion date in the coming weeks.

We hope that you return so that you can stay in one of our new en-suite rooms.

Kind regards. Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Definately and "urban" hostel - like most in Queenstown - busy with loads of guests. Staff helpful and efficient reception. Has a couple of single rooms, both of which I used over the three seperate stays I had here. Rooms were good in terms of size and comfort, and at $70 / night good value. Hostel is built onto hillside above lake - most of the dorms / rooms are on an upper level along one long corridor - have your ear plugs for a good nights sleep - doors banging shut at all hours! From what I saw of the dorm rooms they were spacious and had lockers. The communal facilities in this place are about the best I've ever come across in a hostel. Massive kitchen area with modern fittings and plenty of equipment. Plenty of dining space. Comfy lounge and seperate TV lounge. Free unlimited WiFi. Large modern laundry. The best communal washrooms you could imagine - plenty of space and facilities. Overlooking the lake, and about 10-15 minutes (pleasant) walk from CBD. Very glad I chose to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Hi Dean, Thank you for your comments about our hostel. In addition to our upgraded, modern facilities, we will soon have the final part of our refurbishment completed which means that we will be able to offer en-suite rooms with coffee and tea making facilities. We hope that you can come back and stay in one of our renovated rooms. Kind Regards, Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We stayed one night here in April. We were lucky enough to have one of two rooms with a balcony overlooking the lake. The room wasnt overly clean - there was a lovely family of spiders above the sliding door. The room came with towels which was a nice touch. Our room was smaller than similar ones in other YHA hostels. The location is great, just down the road from the main hub of Queenstown. Its just a short 10 min walk to get to the shops and restaurants . They were closing in a few days for renovations so hopefully they give the place a good clean!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

I think this is the best affordable place to stay in Queenstown. The kitchen facilities are excellent. Many of the buses stop right outside. The bedding and towels provided were very clean. My only complaint would be that the walls between rooms are quite thin.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not right next to the road - traffic noise
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

It's just a few minutes walk along the lake front to get to the YHA and it's the quiet location that makes this a great place to stay, along with it's helpful, friendly staff. The kitchen facilities are good but at peak times very busy and finding a free locker or fridge space is a challenge on day one. The bike store and luggage storage areas are secure and have ample space. The big thing that lets it down is the wifi - it just doesn't have the capacity for the volume of use. Getting a stable signal at any time of day (or night) to upload simple strava files (which only really take a minute or so) was nigh on impossible. Given wifi is almost as essential as electricity these days, we found the best bet was to take ourselves off to a bar in town - even when we didn't want a drink!

Room Tip: Get a top-floor balcony room for extra-special views!
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews