We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2017

I was staying 3 nights, staffs are very friendly and gave me enough explanations and map that i can understand easily.
Price is surprisingly affordable and other facilities are well-organized.
Highly recommended, will come back on my next trip.

Room Tip: best views,amazing locations, nice and tidy room and friendly staffs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Amy,

Thank you for your nice comments about our hostel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing again soon!

Kind regards. Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017

The hostel was very busy at the end of the day and it was a challenge to find a parking spot and to get registered. The rooms were very basic and did not have private bathrooms. The hostel has a large kitchen, dining area that is very accessible and a lounge that is busy in the evenings but comfortable, Very reasonable price if you have a YHA card.

Room Tip: Find a room close to a bathroom if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Ken,

Thank you for your feedback about our hostel. We currently have a large part of the hostel closed for refurbishment and our builders are having to use up three parking spots to work from so I do understand your frustration.

However, there are free parking spaces on the road just outside the hostel that our guests can use. After the refurbishment, we will have six new private en-suite rooms so we are looking forward to the completion date in the coming weeks.

We hope that you return so that you can stay in one of our new en-suite rooms.

Kind regards. Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Definately and "urban" hostel - like most in Queenstown - busy with loads of guests. Staff helpful and efficient reception. Has a couple of single rooms, both of which I used over the three seperate stays I had here. Rooms were good in terms of size and comfort, and at $70 / night good value. Hostel is built onto hillside above lake - most of the dorms / rooms are on an upper level along one long corridor - have your ear plugs for a good nights sleep - doors banging shut at all hours! From what I saw of the dorm rooms they were spacious and had lockers. The communal facilities in this place are about the best I've ever come across in a hostel. Massive kitchen area with modern fittings and plenty of equipment. Plenty of dining space. Comfy lounge and seperate TV lounge. Free unlimited WiFi. Large modern laundry. The best communal washrooms you could imagine - plenty of space and facilities. Overlooking the lake, and about 10-15 minutes (pleasant) walk from CBD. Very glad I chose to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Queenstown Lakefront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Hi Dean, Thank you for your comments about our hostel. In addition to our upgraded, modern facilities, we will soon have the final part of our refurbishment completed which means that we will be able to offer en-suite rooms with coffee and tea making facilities. We hope that you can come back and stay in one of our renovated rooms. Kind Regards, Sue Fairclough, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We stayed one night here in April. We were lucky enough to have one of two rooms with a balcony overlooking the lake. The room wasnt overly clean - there was a lovely family of spiders above the sliding door. The room came with towels which was a nice touch. Our room was smaller than similar ones in other YHA hostels. The location is great, just down the road from the main hub of Queenstown. Its just a short 10 min walk to get to the shops and restaurants . They were closing in a few days for renovations so hopefully they give the place a good clean!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

I think this is the best affordable place to stay in Queenstown. The kitchen facilities are excellent. Many of the buses stop right outside. The bedding and towels provided were very clean. My only complaint would be that the walls between rooms are quite thin.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not right next to the road - traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
6.2 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#20 of 93 in Queenstown
234 reviews
1.2 km away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Nomads Queenstown Hostel
Nomads Queenstown Hostel
#12 of 93 in Queenstown
978 reviews
0.8 km away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#6 of 93 in Queenstown
395 reviews
1.2 km away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 93 in Queenstown
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Queenstown Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Queenstown Lakefront

Address: 88 - 90 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: ₹ 1,570 - ₹ 4,949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Queenstown Lakefront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience the beauty and excitement of Queenstown but still get a good night’s sleep, then YHA Queenstown Lakefront is the hostel for you. This newly refurbished hostel brings you fully-equipped, modern facilities, a ten minute stroll along the lakefront to the centre of Queenstown. Our location on Lake Wakatipu offers stunning views from our common areas and many of our bedrooms, some with their own lakeview balcony. The hostel features 2GB free WiFi per day, fully-equipped kitchen, TV lounge, laundry, a drying room for ski & tramping gear, dedicated snowboard, ski & bike storage, lockers in all shared rooms, some on-site parking (a rarity in Queenstown!), 24-hour guest access, outdoor patio area, and a team of friendly staff who can help with travel and activity bookings free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Queenstown Lakefront Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing