We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
147
141
67
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
141
67
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenfree spicesfridge spacebed dormcommunal facilitiestv loungebig hostelprivate roomgreat facilitiesbus stopin townluggage storagewifi worked wellpots and pansreception staff were very helpfulnew zealandquiet area
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

A good hostel with a great view across the lake. I stayed in the 6 bed dorm. Decent beds, bathrooms and cupboards to put your gear. Sofas to relax on and wifi was generally ok. Not sure the new bath mats system works, there were only used ones every time I took a shower. The only other gripe is that it was fairly noisy, especially the bedroom door. Not good when lots of people are coming in and out.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Yetitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

There are two YHAs in Queenstown - one located right in the heart of downtown, and the other a little stroll along the Esplanade. It is a short walk to downtown, so it was not as bad as we initially feared. For those who don't like the hustle and bustle, it may be a better bet than the Central YHA. And accommodation can be quite expensive in Queenstown, so it may also be a cheaper option. There is very limited parking on the facility grounds, but you can park on the street overnight without paying. The hostel is quite large, but we had a very small room (with little sound insulation - we could hear our neighbour's conversations). There are large washroom areas, as well as a few individual bathrooms and showers, all of which are kept very clean. There is strong, free unlimited wifi. The communal kitchen is huge and well-equipped, and this is probably the hostel's best feature. Lots of pots and pans, small appliances and fridge space, and free spices as well. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful, and they even offer emergency groceries and toiletries for sale. While our room could definitely have been better, we were satisfied with our stay

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therichpeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

My friend came over to New Zealand then we stayed in here. Local is very good, stunning view in front of this backpackers. We can sleep without noise because it is located a little away from main town. Of course we can walk to the town easily. Cleanliness is awesome, facilities are also new, free wifi. We had a really good stay. One thing negative point, there was fridges but almost all full and difficult to find some space but no big deal. I will definitely stay here whenI head to Queenstown!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NarumiT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

This hostel is amazing, very clean and tidy, is a bit expensive (but no so expensive compared with the other accommodation in Queenstown), the staff is very friendly, especially André, he is the coolest recepcionist that I have met, rise his salary please!. Also someone "borrow" a plate with food from the fridge but the recepcionsts look through the cameras.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nahuelgrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

This recently-renovated YHA is a really good place to stay. New bathrooms, spacious well-equipped kitchen that didn't seem crowded at any time, despite nearly full capacity in the hostel. My room was small but very comfortable. Good storage room, laundry, and friendly, willing staff at reception.

Room Tip: lake view rooms available, upper level quieter, but only stair access
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emba999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews