We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, friendly staff - poor wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2017

It's just a few minutes walk along the lake front to get to the YHA and it's the quiet location that makes this a great place to stay, along with it's helpful, friendly staff. The kitchen facilities are good but at peak times very busy and finding a free locker or fridge space is a challenge on day one. The bike store and luggage storage areas are secure and have ample space. The big thing that lets it down is the wifi - it just doesn't have the capacity for the volume of use. Getting a stable signal at any time of day (or night) to upload simple strava files (which only really take a minute or so) was nigh on impossible. Given wifi is almost as essential as electricity these days, we found the best bet was to take ourselves off to a bar in town - even when we didn't want a drink!

Room Tip: Get a top-floor balcony room for extra-special views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

A good hostel with a great view across the lake. I stayed in the 6 bed dorm. Decent beds, bathrooms and cupboards to put your gear. Sofas to relax on and wifi was generally ok. Not sure the new bath mats system works, there were only used ones every time I took a shower. The only other gripe is that it was fairly noisy, especially the bedroom door. Not good when lots of people are coming in and out.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Yetitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

There are two YHAs in Queenstown - one located right in the heart of downtown, and the other a little stroll along the Esplanade. It is a short walk to downtown, so it was not as bad as we initially feared. For those who don't like the hustle and bustle, it may be a better bet than the Central YHA. And accommodation can be quite expensive in Queenstown, so it may also be a cheaper option. There is very limited parking on the facility grounds, but you can park on the street overnight without paying. The hostel is quite large, but we had a very small room (with little sound insulation - we could hear our neighbour's conversations). There are large washroom areas, as well as a few individual bathrooms and showers, all of which are kept very clean. There is strong, free unlimited wifi. The communal kitchen is huge and well-equipped, and this is probably the hostel's best feature. Lots of pots and pans, small appliances and fridge space, and free spices as well. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful, and they even offer emergency groceries and toiletries for sale. While our room could definitely have been better, we were satisfied with our stay

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therichpeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

My friend came over to New Zealand then we stayed in here. Local is very good, stunning view in front of this backpackers. We can sleep without noise because it is located a little away from main town. Of course we can walk to the town easily. Cleanliness is awesome, facilities are also new, free wifi. We had a really good stay. One thing negative point, there was fridges but almost all full and difficult to find some space but no big deal. I will definitely stay here whenI head to Queenstown!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narumi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

This hostel is amazing, very clean and tidy, is a bit expensive (but no so expensive compared with the other accommodation in Queenstown), the staff is very friendly, especially André, he is the coolest recepcionist that I have met, rise his salary please!. Also someone "borrow" a plate with food from the fridge but the recepcionsts look through the cameras.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nahuelgrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.0 km away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
0.8 km away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 93 in Queenstown
373 reviews
0.8 km away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#19 of 93 in Queenstown
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
377 reviews
1.3 km away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#6 of 93 in Queenstown
250 reviews
6.1 km away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Queenstown Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Queenstown Lakefront

Address: 88 - 90 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: ₹ 1,390 - ₹ 4,573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Queenstown Lakefront 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience the beauty and excitement of Queenstown but still get a good night’s sleep, then YHA Queenstown Lakefront is the hostel for you – and it’s only a 10 minute walk into town. A comfortable fully equipped hostel sitting right on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, offering stunning views of the lake and Remarkables mountain range. The hostel includes a drying room for ski & tramping gear and dedicated snowboard, ski & bike storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Queenstown Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Queenstown Lakefront Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing