We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,618)
Filter reviews
1,618 results
Traveller rating
787
636
132
38
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
787
636
132
38
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location a lake view room steamer wharf in town tss earnslaw per day excellent hotel breakfast buffet hotel is located restaurants and shops two double beds new zealand free wifi steamers lake wakatipu stayed here for nights great room
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,618 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a top floor room (level 7 - take the lift to level 6 and then walk up one flight of stairs) for 4 days at the end of our skiing holiday. Good location with excellent views (see photo). Standard room with king size bed and balcony. Bathroom with bath to soak the muscles after a long/hard day on the slopes. Ironing board and iron, dressing gown and slippers, and in-room safe provided. Older style flat screen tv (unused) and bedside clock radio with Bluetooth speaker. Daily servicing while we were on the slopes. There is a well stocked mini bar that was unused - the supermarket for nibbles and liquor store for good quality local wine are walking distance from the hotel. Breakfast was included, with the usual array of goodies served buffet style, and an ‘egg station’ (order your eggs however you like and they will be brought to your table). Good coffee, although it takes 10-15 minutes from ordering to arrive at the table. Friendly service. A well oiled machine offering a solid guest experience.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MatthewJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good Afternoon MatthewJB,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are so pleased you enjoyed a memorable skiing holiday in our ideal location in town.

We really do take pride in our amazing team and us delivering a positive and seamless guest experience - which seems like we have done just that for you during your stay!

I have noted the wait time for coffee and shared this with our Food & Beverage Manager to ensure we focus on continually improving and for our future guest stays.

Thank you again for taking the time, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kimberley Purcell
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We arrived at the Crowne Plaza in Queenstown early due to an early flight. Our upgraded room was ready and waiting. Every staff member was pleasant and helpful. We absolutely could not have asked for a better location. The lake and river are easily accessWe enjoyed easy access to shops. The beautiful views from our room were amazing. We would definitely stay at the beautiful Queenstowne Crowne Plaza again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jlgayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Good Afternoon jlgayton,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - we are so pleased you enjoyed our amazing service staff, and ideal location in town. These really are two of our greatest assets.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future to our beautiful location, the views over Lake Wakatipu really are spectacular and we hope you can enjoy them again when you return.

Kind Regards,
Kimberley Purcell
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Expensive but oh so worth it! Those lake side views are stunning & I could wake up to that everyday. Very Luxurious hotel. We stayed here for the first few nights of our honeymoon & it didn't disappoint. We were gifted a personalized card & bottle of champagne as a welcome gift for the honeymoon which I just loved. The staff were very friendly, concierge were helpful in booking our tours, breakfast buffet was great. The room was nice with a really comfy big bed. Would 100% stay here again. It's expensive but worth it for the views & luxury element.

Room Tip: pay extra for lake view room
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SophieCaruana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Good Afternoon SophieCaruana,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - we are so pleased you feel value for money when booking in our ideal location in town for such a special occasion!

We really do pride ourselves on our amazing service staff and providing a comfortable and memorable stay. Our team will be so pleased with your lovely comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the future, and wish you all the best for newly married life!

Kind Regards,
Kimberley Purcell
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

It was my first time to Queenstown. The Hotel location is central and close to almost everything. View from my room was heart taking. Lake and snowy mountains. I just tried morning breakfasts during my stay which was really cost effective.

Room Tip: Lake View room
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank amgagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Good Afternoon amgagan,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed our ideal location in town and the amazing views over Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables.

We hope to welcome you back to our spectacular part of the world again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kimberley Purcell
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We stayed 3 nights in this older and functional hotel which is perfectly located on Lake Wakatipu. We walked to all downtown areas. Valet parking worked great. We booked mountain view room which we discovered overlooked Lake Street at side of hotel which was a non starter. After lengthy discussions back at reception, we were upgraded to a lake view room at front of hotel after agreeing to pay price difference.

The lake view room was just super with a small balcony. The road outside the hotel can be a little noisy with buses, boats and traffic, but its tolerable. The hotel itself is a concrete monstrosity which definitely stands out like an architectural sore thumb in Queenstown. But its OK when you are on the inside looking out.

We enjoyed our stay here after we procured the lake view. The close location to downtown just added significantly to our Queenstown experience.

Room Tip: Lake view room worth the expense
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank solyluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Good Afternoon Solyluz,

Thank you for your recent review of Crowne Plaza Queenstown. We are thrilled you enjoyed the wonderful views of Lake Wakatipu and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Harry Flynn
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews