We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Option in Queenstown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lomond Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lomond Lodge
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
shanghaimandi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Option in Queenstown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Lomond Lodge met all our expectations. We were looking for something budget but not backpacker style. We are a bit past our travel phase of sleeping in dorm rooms. The Lomond Lodge had the best location, reviews and prices that we could find through various sites. We ended up booking on Agoda and paid about 130 NZ a night for a nice room with a lake view and a small kitchenette which was very nice for having breakfasts and take out dinners in our room. Lonely Planet lists this hotel as having some tired décor but this was not our experience. They must have remodeled because our room was very tastefully decorated and felt very new and clean. The room we had (#1) was very comfortable with a king sized bed and a small table and chairs overlooking the lake (no balcony). There was some traffic noise but nothing that interrupted our nights. The communal BBQ area is small but nice. We did not use the BBQ but it would be great if you were up for grilling your own food. There is also a guest laundry and very friendly reception. The website does state that there is wireless throughout the hotel. Note that this is not free and the paid service is often dependent on how many MB you use. If you plan to use Skype or upload photos to the Internet, buy the unlimited MB card. Also make sure you sign off each time you are finished using the Internet or your minutes will evaporate. The location was great! Located a very short walk to the center of town, only about 2 minutes! However, there is a short little hike up some stairs to get to the top of the hill that the hotel sits on, but was not a problem for us. Although we were not traveling with our children this time, this hotel would be fine for a family with small children. They also have bigger apartment style rooms that can accommodate families.

Room Tip: The lake view room we had was nice but we spent very little time in the room. The kitchenette was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanghaimandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Guest, thank you so much for the lovely review you recently posted - we are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, the room and the facilties!
We have recently re-painted the rooms, updated the bed covers and fitted new plasma screen tv's - also the ground floor lake view rooms have been fitted with sinks so the kitchenettes are more self contained.
Thank you again for your comments we will pass them on to the team here!
We look forward to be able to host you again the next time you visit Queenstown.
regards,
Lee Exell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    196
    46
    21
    4
See reviews for
109
257
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Everything of interest is within walking distance. Friendly & helpful staff, clean & very comfortable room with a full community kitchen, if you want a hot eat-in meal.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lomond33, General Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for posting a review of your recent stay! We are thrlled to read you found the location so central and our staff were friendly and helpful - we shall pass on your comments to the team at Lomond Lodge!
With thanks again and we hope to be able to host you again,

With thanks,
Lee Exell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The lodge is located walking distance from the city centre without being noisy at all. The studio was compact, modern and very clean. The common kitchen was not perfectly clean but fully equipped and near the rooms. The receptionist was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asammut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lomond33, Front Office Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post up a review of your stay at Lomond Lodge - we are really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found the room to be comfortable, modern and clean.
We are so lucky to have such a prime location in Queenstown, as the Lodge is so accessible to the centre of Queenstown and all the activities/restaurants and lake front!

We look forward to being able to host you again should you be returning to Queenstown in the future.

with thanks,

Lomond Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed in Lomond Lodge in March 2012. Despite asking for "nice view room" we got dark room with very small window called "garden view". We were very disappointed as the room looked nothing like those from the pictures on the website.

Moreover, we got bites from sth called bed bugs - very unpleasant. There was an insect repellent in the room, we found it weird but now we know that we should have used it before going to bed!

Location is good but that's all about positives. We spent days on the South Island staying in different places and this one was certainly the worst of all.

Room Tip: Only lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gosia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lomond33, General Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
We have delayed posting a response as contacted the reviewer to ask a few questions- as felt very strongly re their vague comments regarding Bed Bugs.

A nice view room - the guest booked a Garden view studio room - all these rooms have views out on to our garden & BBQ area or views up to the Gondola & Queenstown Hill. We have taken some pictures (from our iphone, so not professional shots) which show these images. All of the images on our webiste are a clear representation of our rooms.

Bites at night - we feel very strongly that the guest did not encounter Bed bugs. All of our mattresses at the Lodge are sanitized to above industry standards by an external company, and secondly our mattress protectors are allergen barrier bed covers, which follow a strict principle of only providing products that have been independently tested and proven effective.

The below statement is taken directly from our communication with the reviewer -
You're right regarding the bed bugs - I can't be sure what kind of insects were in the room.

We feel that the guest may have been bitten by sand flies as they are in abundance throughout the South Island - we leave insect spray in the rooms for this very reason.

Lomond Lodge continues to receive good reviews, when there are comments that need attention we do our best each & every time to act upon the feedback to enhance the Lodge's facilities and amenities for future guests -

Regards

Lee & Rachel Exell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Older style rooms but very clean and comfortable. Great views of Queenstown and very close to the centre of town. Also an easy walk to the gondala as well. The service was very friendly nad welcoming. One little thing is that there is limited off-street parking but this is not a real inconvienience. All round a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 km away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
2.5 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.3 km away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Lodge

Property: Lomond Lodge
Address: 33 Man Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,580 - ₹ 14,977
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomond Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
33 Lomond Lodge is privately owned and operated Motel which has 12 Studio rooms and 2 Family Apartments - Located in the "Heart" of Queenstown, 50 metres from the Gondola and Lake front offering quiet, comfortable, quality accommodation to suit all budgets. Local staff and Qualmark rated 4 star.Complimentary tour booking service, ski shuttles operate from the end of the road. Ski store/dry room, Private Garden and BBQ area, Plasma TV's with DVD, 5GB of complimentary WiFi per day plus free Parking at the front of the Lodge plus additional over flow underground car parking across the street from the Motel. We have Lake & Garden studio rooms - Lake View rooms with balcony have "stunning views" out over the Remarkable Mountain Range and Lake Wakatipu. Garden studios have lovely views up to the Gondola. Great location, affordable rates and wonderful service. We look forward to welcoming you at Lomond Lodge, Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lomond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hotel Queenstown
Lomond Motel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing