We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for larger group - Perfect location”

Review of Shambala

Shambala
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shambala
Jacuzzi on the terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Shambala
Jacuzzi on the terrace
Entrance
Views from the house
Barbecue on the terrace
Master Bedroom
Relax in the Living Room
DIning area
Second bedroom with ensuite
Kitchen
The Living Room
Another view from the inside
Master bathroom/ensuite
Downstairs bathroom with steam room
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Queenstown, Otago Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kiwiwcyri...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for larger group - Perfect location”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

From the initial inquiry through to checkout, Kent was efficient and easy to deal with.

We flew in from Australia to walk the famous Routeburn Track and were looking for a house to accommodate three families post tramp (hike).

Shambala ticked all the boxes - close to town, awesome views, spa pool (mandatory after the tramp), outdoor fire and BBQ plus very well appointed inside.

We will book again without doubt.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmaleem6...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Perfection”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Shambala is a large, warm, inviting house with spectacular views.
We had a fantastic stay in Queenstown, a lot of that is due to the great accommodation.
We hope to be back soon!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria11K
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great house, great location & great hosts.”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We were an extended family of 7 (6 adults & a 16yr old) & stayed for a week over Easter. This house was perfect for us. Location was excellent and an easy 5-10 minute downhill stroll to town. The walk back up is a challenge, but a useful way to walk off all the great food & wine we had. As an alternative, a $8 taxi ride gets you back to the house from the centre of Queenstown. Everything was as advertised which is really appareciated, with stunning views from the master bedroom, upstairs living & kitchen & the deck, a beautiful fireplace (plenty of firewood), hot tub, nice bathrooms, heated floors, & wifi. Kent was readily available on for any questions we had. The welcome chocolates & wine were a very nice touch too. We would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fabulous family home in easy walking distance to town.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cobezeke
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“So many good things about this house!”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This house was loved by all the family! They missed it as soon as we drove off to the airport! We arrived to a warm house with the fireplace ready to go, chocolates and wine. Our three teenagers used the hot tub and steam room at least 3 times a day. I loved getting out of bed, going out in the freezing air and getting into that awesome hot tub.Not to mention how good it is to walk on warm floors! the views are incredible from so many places in the house and you can spot the house going up the gondola which is great. The house is a fantastic size with two living areas and bedrooms both upstairs and downstairs.There were board games, sky channels, hundreds of movies, a pool table just to add to the houses appeal.The art work in the house was also really amusing, gave us heaps of conversation topics.
I agree that the walk up the hill is steep, however when you are on holiday, eating more......the walk is welcome! We also hired a car which was handy to get around in.
I would highly recommend this house, I researched for over 8 months on where to stay and this place had everything I asked for. Im already planning a "girls trip" back to this house in the near future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and steam room
Liked least: leaving the house!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thanks Kelly for the great review and for leaving the house tidy . It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. I look fwd to your next trip over.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzukes17
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Feels like home.”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at the Shambala for 4 nights 29/3-2/4 and although there was only 2 of us the house felt homely and comfortable. The open fire kept us warm in the evenings while the large open doors to the private terrace provided a cooling breeze in the day while we soaked up the dramatic and breathtaking views of lake Wakatipu.

Although we had hired a car we chose to walk into town as it is a very short distance (and downhill), while there we enjoyed some bluff oysters that are in season along with a bottle of local Pinot Gris. Walking home is another story ... quite steep climb but it's not terrible if you take your time and enjoy the fresh air!

Speaking of hills, there is a path right next to the house that leads you up to peak of the mountains behind the house. Its a great hike and the view from the summit is very rewarding.

We loved the Shambala, it truly felt like our home during our stay and hope to return with a group of friends next time!


Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 770
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing