We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great eating experience”
Review of Vknow

Vknow
Ranked #26 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is a 6-7 minute drive out of Queenstown in a residential area, but well worth it. The food is absolutely first rate, different from the usual tourist menu, served by one of the owners in afriendly, laid back but efficient manner while the other owner cooks - brilliantly! Very informal, unusual, relaxed, unpretentious atmosphere . Great wines, great food and excellent value for money. No views, but if you're concentrating on the food,wine and conversation who cares? Highly recommended.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great eating experience”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Had the most amazing time at this restaurant. Meal was fantastic and the restaurant's host kept my husband thoroughly entertained - at last he has found someone as interested to chat about wine as he is. It left me free to enjoy mine in blissful comfort !! If we're ever in Queenstown again we will go back, but as we live in the UK, that may be a while !!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cox S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    86
    19
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“hosts with the most”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

can only repeat what others have said.
this will be the best service you will find in queenstown if not nz!
food was great but it is the atmosphere and extra effort that makes this special. get out of the town centre and be made to feel special

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jack c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Casaul place for meeting the locals.”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Our favourite for the last year or so.
Great meals , never go home hungry. Relaxing and quite.

Helpful?
Thank Trelawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hidden away gem”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Booked VKnow after reading excellent reviews and we weren't disappointed. Were made welcome by Danny the owner who seemed to have time for everyone. going on. Orders were taken quickly, I can recommend the Spinach and Blue Cheese Soup, just delicious. The main course was muddled up, I ordered Blue Cod in the Thai Green Curry Sauce but got the Fish of the Day which was Blue Cod with Thai salad. Tip: always get the waitress to repeat your order! Although it wasn't what was originally ordered it was beautifully presented and very good. I was given a lovely glass of dessert wine to compensate. I was a little disappointed in the dessert choices which was very limited. I would recommend VKnow, it is a little tucked away but worth getting to know.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevonGirl59_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Vermont
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the short drive”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Hosts Danny and Lizzie make you feel like you're one of the regulars. So friendly. And the food is amazing. Loved it. Would go again in a heartbeat!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank FrannyGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vknow also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Vknow? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing