We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Different!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Segway on Q

Segway on Q
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 64.08*
and up
Queenstown Segway Tour
Ranked #6 of 162 Tours in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover a new sensation that’s fantastic fun! Segway tours are a great way to see the town and have lots of fun along the way.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Something Different!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

On a two week tour of south island. By chance, came upon a review for Segway on Q. A quick phone call made and a booking slot allocated. Met with Kevin and after an introduction to the Segway and some slow speed manoeuvres, confidence was in place to go further. What a hoot! I can't think of any other mode of transport to view a new location. After two hours, we reluctantly handed back the segways to our tour guide Kevin and left wishing we owned one. Don't miss this opportunity when in Queenstown.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank murdo428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    40
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exploring Queenstown on Segway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Ben greeted my wife & me at the arranged spot with a set of Segways - all in excellent condition. A couple of young girls joined us there as well. Our leader & instructor, Ben, patiently gave us a short course on Segways and taught us individually how to operate our unit; we practised for a short while ahead of a one-hour trip around Queenstown.

We then followed Ben through the most picturesque streets of this gorgeous town, around the bay and eventually through the Botanical Gardens.

With practice and close supervision, we all got better quickly and Ben got us to step up the speed capability of the units.

We made our way back through the streets and it was great to see the people accommodating us as Ben courteously led the way through.. many took photographs of us as they gave us the cheerio...

It was the first time I got to see one of these units and am impressed with its torque and safety. It was comforting that Ben knew his trade very well and that the equipment was in excellent condition & clean.

You gotta do it! Best way to see Queenstown..

Eddy

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Efjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A fun way to see Queenstown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband, daughter and myself had a wonderful time learning how to use a Segway and then zooming around the foreshore of Lake Wakatipu, right in the heart of Queenstown. In hindsight we should have booked the 2 hour tour as an hour wasn't really long enough. Kevin is a great instructor and we got our confidence up really fast. We would all definitely do this again.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chakra120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not to be missed 2 hours of total Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We recently went on the Queenstown Tour. Luckly we had booked a 2 hour tour as 1 hour is just not enough time
We had never riden/driven a Segway before and it was a lot easier than imagined
A MUST DO in any city, a total blast , just heaps of fun
Don't forget book 2 hours

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charsal_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Sooo much fun I WANT ONE! In fact we all want one after going on our 1 hr Segway tour! My husband, mum, brother and I had an absolute ball, my brother has an intellectual disability and Kevin our guide was so super patient and great with him! Hilight of our trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank Bellej1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Segway on Q also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Segway on Q? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing