We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay”
Review of Amber Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber Lodge
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay here during January 2012. The room was spacious and very clean, the bed was fantastically comfortable and warm, which was very welcomed after walking the Routeburn Track. This motel is located so close to the town and the bus stop that we walked everywhere and enjoyed the views and atmosphere. The staff were friendly and helpful and e-mail contact was excellent while I was booking and planning from Queensland, Australia. I believe we got excellent value for money and this will be my first preference for accommodation on our next trip to Queenstown.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and had wonderful views of Queenstown and Lake Wakatipu, we heard no noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 99 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights.
Good:
- Rooms are good size
- Location is really good as its a 2 min walk to all the restaurants & shops. Everything is just a few minutes on foot
- office can book activities in Queenstown & surrounding areas and are always happy to answer any questions we have

Improvements:
- Not too clean / dated rooms especially the bathrooms. We had soo many bugs in our room every night
- Some of their staffs need to lighten up. We had an issue with the internet (which you have to pay for). And he was really rude in explaining.
- Cannot lock the rooms from the inside unless you have a key
- Booking confirmation said the room has "stunning lake facing views" and this is very questionable as all we could do see was a peep through the trees/ buildings

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jagjit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed here before and have booked again, cannot fault the service. They booked us on a great tour to Doubtful Sound. Friendly helpful and just what we wanted

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This place had one thing going for it, the location. It is a easy 5 min walk into town. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 kids, stayed here for 2 nights then onto Te Anau. We had 2 single beds in the lounge, kitchen area and a bedroom for us. The place was old. dirty and just awful. The couch should be thrown out.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

These guys were very accommodating letting us leave our bags while we went off on our tramp.
Ask them anything and they were really good.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and that is all you want at the end of the day, no complaints.

Room Tip: a bit of noise as close to the road but as this was a 2 room place this could have been the reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank turtle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 km away
Four Seasons Motel
Four Seasons Motel
#44 of 58 in Queenstown
91 reviews
0.2 km away
Whistler Holiday Apartments
Whistler Holiday Apartments
#29 of 58 in Queenstown
285 reviews
0.3 km away
Cranbury Court Apartments
Cranbury Court Apartments
#24 of 93 in Queenstown
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Amity Lodge Motel
Amity Lodge Motel
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
468 reviews
0.4 km away
Caples Court
Caples Court
#5 of 93 in Queenstown
252 reviews
0.8 km away
Queenstown Motel Apartments
Queenstown Motel Apartments
#39 of 58 in Queenstown
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Lodge

Address: 1 Gorge Road | PO Box 128, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: ₹ 5,715 - ₹ 13,216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amber Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of the Queenstown City Centre with no hills to walk, Amber Lodge offers 14 self-contained studio and apartment rooms, most with lake and mountain views.Family owned and operated Amber Lodge provides central, friendly and comfortable motel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Amber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing