We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views, faultless service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views, faultless service”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at the Rees for the July ski season and found it to be absolutely stunning in terms of its room appointments, front desk service and cleanliness. Our room had an amazing view of The Remarkables, our interactions with the concierge were excellent (he sent us to some of the most amazing restuarants I have ever been to) and the gym and facilities were superb. Slept like a dream on the comfortable mattresses and although the hotel was a little out of town the on-site secure parking facilities made our journey easy. We are already booked back to come here in December just to see this beautiful town in summer.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a lakeside room - it is worth the extra bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alexandragfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,387
    440
    125
    42
    26
See reviews for
498
1,079
44
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed only one night in this glorious spot. The view from our room was stunning.The rooms are very well appointed with all the luxuries you would expect of a five star hotel. The bathroom was enormous. We loved the staff, who were extremely friendly and helpful.
We liked the fact they cook your breakfast fresh, don't serve you a tired buffet.
The only thing that was annoying was the fact that to get to our room we had to take the lift down 3 floors, walk across the carpark then catch another lift to go down two more floors.
The lovely young chap on reception happily took us to our room, to make sure we didn't get lost. All in all, a great find!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CarolNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments deliver on what they advertise. The apartments offer luxury and style, with fantastic lake views.
We had access to all the utilities you could ask for, dishwasher, laundry and designer bathrooms.

The doors to the balcony completely opened up to remove any barrier to a fantastic view of the lake.

We were travelling and stayed in a variety of hotels over the week. As you will know sleeping in different beds each night can be interesting. Well not at the Rees, the luxury did not stop at the surroundings but inlcuded fantastic beds and linen which was like sleeping on clouds. I would highly recommend it and I most certainly will be staying there again.
Phil

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The apartment (we stayed in a 1BR non-lake view apartment) itself was FANTASTIC. A full - FULL - kitchen, complete w/ FULL cutlery, we had our own washer AND dryer (which after ~10 days of traveling wasn't just welcomed - it was VITAL!), 1 & 1/2 bathrooms, a full dining table (w/ service for 8), PLUS a balcony w/ another table and 8 seats. The view from our balcony was phenomenal, even though it was a NON-lake view room. The mountains surrounding Queenstown provided more-than-sufficient scenery.

I would like to have said the room WAS the nicest I've ever stayed in, but the gas fireplace going out the first night of our stay, causing us to be VERY cold - even w/ the 1 space heater they provided us, the cold made the room uncomfortable. (We asked for a 2nd space heater, but never got it.)

The hotel overall is one of the nicest I've ever stayed in and

Where they were lacking was the service. For as great as the rest of the hotel was, their service just didn't match. There were 3 or 4 occasions on which I called either the concierge or the front desk w/ either requests for information or service (the fireplace going out was one). They weren't dismissive and were responsive to a degree, but there were definitely limits to how helpful they could be - as a matter of fact, 3 of the times, I ended up w/o their really helping me.

Bottom line: I would DEFINITELY stay here again & I would recommend The Rees; I just won't be calling their front desk/concierge again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We spent four nights in a two bedroom lake view apartment. The property is located between the airport and town and it was a very pleasant 30-40 minute walk along the lakefront into town however there is a free shuttle on a regular timetable.

The hotel seemed quite new and the apartment was large, modern, clean and very well equipped. There was underfloor heating in the tiled areas and along with a gas fire place and panel heaters, it was warm and dry. It is located right on a main road but it was very quiet and we heard no traffic or any noise from our neighbours.

The internet wi-fi and carparking were free and there was a good selection of complimentary tea and coffee which was replenished daily. Housekeeping was good and they even washed our dishes which was not expected. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

My only disappointment was there was no spa pool or swimming pool. Especially being a ski-town in the winter, its always nice to come back for a hot spa at the end of the day. We had spent time cycling and hiking so would have appreciated this considering there was no bath in the apartment.

Overall a great experience however we felt it lacked something, not sure what it was but being a complex made of concrete, it sort of lacked soul, if that makes sense!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BBsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.1 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
2.8 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.3 km away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.4 km away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,386 reviews
0.7 km away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#4 of 58 in Queenstown
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments

Property: The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Address: 377 Frankton Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,648 - ₹ 75,259
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rees Hotel and Luxury Apartments Queenstown is the new gateway to the True South. We welcome you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown accommodation experience and savor the rich heritage, vibrant culture and diverse attractions of New Zealand’s glorious Queenstown and Southern Lakes District. The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments Queenstown offers luxury accommodation on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, looking out to The Remarkable Mountains. The Rees Hotel is conveniently located to Queenstown Airport and a short drive away from the centre of Queenstown, and central to the wide range of high quality, year-round attractions and activities offered by Queenstown and the broader Southern Lakes District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rees Hotel And Luxury Apartments
Rees Hotel Queenstown
The Rees Hotel Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing