We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where I was nurtured- how beautiful”

University of Otago
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 31.67*
and up
Full-Day Ships Shore Excursions from Dunedin
Ranked #25 of 85 things to do in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 20 July 2018

I was delighted to see how the best has been preserved and new parts added to make it a wonderful living and studying space for students. It deserves its cult status as the STUDENTS' university.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Mindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"clock tower"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful campus"
in 5 reviews
"student accommodation"
in 3 reviews
"new zealand"
in 9 reviews
"river running"
in 2 reviews
"walk around"
in 3 reviews
"amazing architecture"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 2 reviews
"railway station"
in 2 reviews
"universities"
in 4 reviews
"otago"
in 17 reviews
"library"
in 4 reviews
"clocktower"
in 2 reviews
"stroll"
in 5 reviews
"school"
in 3 reviews
"lecture"
in 2 reviews
"kiwis"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2018

Usually I do not like visiting universities, but I really enjoyed my walk in this university. The buildings are gorgeously traditional and facilities are very modern. I wish I could study there.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank minimize940314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Best University in the world...might be a bit biased. There is some gorgeous architecture with the old buildings and then there is the modern monstrosities that are a result of the increase in student numbers. Lovely campus, go look around.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Styly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Incredibly supportive and accommodating staff from the residential colleges through to faculty. Very helpful end to end assisting us all to make the best choices possible. Fabulous science facility very impressed.
Weather....well you can't have it all

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank jacquic374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Average campus i`d have to say but of course the biggest off putting thing was the student accommodation around the area. Beautiful old homes with pigs living in them. It does spoil Dunedin i feel with good ol kiwis thinking the drinking culture is all good in this city. I love Dunedin as a destination but certainly not the rep the Uni has.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank 802robbiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed University of Otago also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to University of Otago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing