We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience University of Otago
from US$ 31.30
More Info
from US$ 121.70
More Info
from US$ 114.70
More Info
from US$ 128.70
More Info
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
46
39
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
39
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clock tower beautiful campus student accommodation new zealand river running walk around amazing architecture gift shop railway station universities otago library clocktower stroll school lecture kiwis
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Love the time spending in this university. GO to the clock tower for a photo , especially during the spring when the cherry blossoms. Love that place so much, Proud to be its alumni now.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Liang K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

If you have the time it's interesting to walk around the university. It is quite picturesque with the river flowing through the grounds and some lovely old buildings.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Pacificwoman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

This is a highlight to any visit to Dunedin city. The clock tower is spectacular and the spring blossom trees are just beautiful. The campus is getting remodeled. There is a cafe at the university where you get a stunning view if the clock tower. The best access was near the bus stop by the big university of otago sign on the one way system heading south into the city. Great coffee and friendly staff at the cafe too!

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Our son and Otago Uni student took us for a tour of the university, I have to confess a bias here I really like academic environments, there is something about the combination of history, learning and youthful energy that just makes me feel good. I have visited Oxford, Cambridge, the Sorbonne and Denver State and while not on the scale of these universities Otago is as beautiful in it architecture and location on the Leith River. The thing I have always felt proud about New Zealand is our education for all belief. Otago University is a real symbol of this, being one of the early buildings in Dunedin and on opening accepting women and Maori students.

To illustrate how lovely the area is there were two lots of wedding being photographed with the buildings as a back drop, as we walked around.

The mix of old and new is great- all representing good architecture for the period. The library made me want to go back to university.

Easy walking around but this is Dunedin so remember your raincoat.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Shari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

My review is about the buildings and the campus not the study experience. However, it's a great studying experience. The campus is fantastic. The views, the historic buildings and the open space shape an overwhelming picturistic campus.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Mohammed_A_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews