We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Place”
Review of Deacons Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deacons Court
Ranked #37 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Place”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights and wished that we could have stayed longer. Our hosts, Ash and Chris were great....very welcoming and both had great senses of humor. Our room was large and the bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfasts were outstanding.....well presented and delicious. The location was fabulous. It is nice to be able to have a drink and walk to an area with lots of choices of restaurants (even if the walk back was all uphill). We would certainly recommend this B and B and would stay there again. Keep up the good work. Also, the gardens were fabulous.....we enjoyed sitting there in the evening and have a pre supper drink.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoLady46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    4
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the Deacons Court in January 2011 (this review is looong overdue). We found the room to be suprisingly large and comfortable for 3 (2 adults and a child) people. We had an excellent view from the bay window.
Full breakfast was nice and served in the nicely appointed conservatory. Our host Ash was very friendly, providing us with advice on local attractions and even manage to teach our son how to make pikelets for breakfast.

The location (being up the hill) provides nice views. There is no off street parking but we had no problems findng (unrestricted) parking on the street immediately in front of the building. We found Deacons Court to be very good value for money and can sincerely recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first room on the right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladimir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

A lovely stay of two nights - Ash & Kris were welcoming & so easy going. We loved the house, it was beautiful & very very charming. Nothing nicer than returning to the conservatory at the end of the day & looking out at the exquisite garden. Great beds, excellent breakfast. One of the nicest places we've stayed in & totally recommended.

Room Tip: Front room perfect for a small family like ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our Rugby World Cup tour. The house is charming and the room was beautiful with lovely high ceilings and very tastefully furnished. Breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day. They were beautifully cooked and presented and were the best breakfasts we had in NZ. The location is on a hill but the walk into the centre of town is only about 10 minutes [15 minutes back as it's up hill!]. We loved our stay here and cannot recommend it highly enough. Great hospitality from Ashley and Krys.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Deacons Court was the first B&B we stayed in during our travels around NZ and it set a very high benchmark for all others to live up to!

The house is beautiful, the rooms are large and airy and the hosts, Ash and Kris, were fantastic. Ash's cooked breakfasts were amazing :-)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnesingleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.1 km away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 61 in Dunedin
422 reviews
11.1 km away
Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel
13.1 km away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Longbourne Lodge Country Motel
2.0 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
728 reviews
2.2 km away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deacons Court? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deacons Court

Property: Deacons Court
Address: 342 High Street, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Deacons Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing