We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Ranked #27 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful views, great service”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights during Jan 2012 and had a wonderful experience. We had a very warm welcome and were introduced to the city and its surroundings by the very knowledgeable stuff. Breakfast was plenty and delicious - we need nothing more than fresh fruits, muesli and a yoghurt. The room was tidy and as we stayed on the 2nd floor we had some great views. Go there!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markus252_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    90
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
13
175
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was a great find, a nice change to the bigger hotels. We had a warm welcome and found the staff really helpful, lots of advice available for our trip. The room wasn't very big but was super clean and comfortable. The breakfast was a good start to the day.
Highly recommended as a central base - as long as you don't mind a few hills! Great views too!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I have stayed here twice. I like the character and the location . The standard rooms are plainly decorated in earthy colours in keeping with the monastic history and relatively small, but they have everything you need and are spotlessly clean as are the bathrooms. The beds are very comfortable.There are great views over the city from the balcony. The walk up from the city is a bit steep but not far and unless you are totally unfit shouldn't put you off.
An evening drink in the lounge with the other guests is a nice touch and an ice breaker with other guests. The owner is very friendly and helpful and comes in for a chat over drinks. Breakfast is included and the fresh fruit salad was delicious as were the preserved black doris plums. Tea and coffee are freshly brewed and plentiful and all served in a very pleasant dining room..
Internet access is free which is always good. There are carafes of chilled water and ice readily available at any time in a guest fridge.
My only slight problem with the place and this is really outwith the hotel's control is that the noise of cars accelerating up the hill tends to travel up as did the noise of revellers one night. Being a light sleeper I found this affected me getting to sleep and the light from the sun streaming through the light curtains woke me early ( though it is churlish to complain about the sun!). My husband however had no problem sleeping and was oblivious to all this.
Comparing the tariff with other places we have stayed in Dunedin I think the Brothers does offer very good value and an experience that is just a bit different. I would stay again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We had received a warm welcome from the receptionist - or the boss that we found in the end of the day. The room is clean though a bit small. The hotel itself should be a good place to visit in Dunedine as well. We do like the old British style, the breakfast, the balcony as well as the living room atmosphere.

We would recommend the hotel to others for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huijie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Good points : very comfortable rooms. I stayed in the queen with access to the balcony. Owners are very welcoming, breakfast is included and is worth it.

Bad points : only the location as it is up in the hills (hence the amazing views).

Go here as it well worth it.

Room Tip: Stay in the queen rooms with access to the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.8 km away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.6 km away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
10.2 km away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#23 of 61 in Dunedin
168 reviews
2.4 km away
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
1.4 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brothers Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brothers Boutique Hotel

Property: The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Address: 295 Rattray Street | Carpark- GPS directions: 10 Bishops Rd, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,150 - ₹ 9,314
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a special place in Dunedin. Relax in our European style family run Boutique Hotel close to inner city amenities with spectacular views of the City and harbour. Extensive renovations have been done to this former Christian Brothers 1920's stately residence transforming it into elegant heritage accommodation with 15 bedrooms and all with modern tiled en suites. The Brothers offers a mixture of convenience, history, charm, elegance and tranquillity, with the building retaining much of its original grandeur. Unfortunately the Hotel is unsuitable for infants, babies and young children under 16 and can't be accommodated. The Brothers is also quite different from anything else in Dunedin. The intention during the refurbishment was to be sympathetic to the building's history and wherever possible the original character has been retained. As a result most of our rooms are of a size often found in European Cities and maybe considered small by some. If room size is important to you or the prospect of walking 10 minutes uphill from the city centre is a daunting issue then other options maybe more suitable for you . A welcoming drink is offered early evening in the main Guest lounge. Book direct with us for better price and room options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brothers Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brothers Boutique Hotel Dunedin
Brothers Boutique Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing