We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but too noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of 97 Motel Moray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
97 Motel Moray
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location, but too noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

The motel was very central, walking disstance to the Octogon. Great location indeed.
However, we had to put up with a lot of noise through the nights. We were there in April. The guests in the motel were very noisy thru out the two nights we stayed. Probably from the "private" floor. They looked like students staying there long term. Not sure. Parking was limited for a motel this size.

The room was good size but very drafty. We needed to use our bags to seal the huge door gap. Shower/toilet were clean, but the integrated arrangement made the floor all wet from showers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manaseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    62
    25
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
60
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
370 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This motel is very conveniently located near the Octagon, just a very short walk to i site, and everything else. Nearest Count down supermarket is only a little further down Stuart street, close to the Cadbury world.

On arrival, a very cheerful lady Beverly helped me with the easy check in. Rooms are ok, nit luxury style but sufficient. Beds are huge and comfortable, and the kitchenette is handy if u wish to reheat something to eat. Since only a microwave is available, that's all you could do.

The walls of the room are paper thin, noise from neighbor can be heard, I was most disturbed one night, got woken up by people talking loudly with music going on at 4:30am! Another issue I had was with the maintenance of their laundry facilities. Because they also rent out accommodations to students, all the clothes line were full, so i tried to use the clothe dryer, but it was not working!!! I had to use my wit to dry my clothes inside my room with the heater going on at high all night. There were the things that made this motel a little imperfect. But I am sure these are issues they could fix easily, if they put their hearts to it.

Their internet, although not free, is quite cheap, with a $3 flag fall for first 20 mb, then only charge at 1 cent per mb. Despite the hiccups this is still an ok choice for travelers on a budget but want good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Only a few minutes walk to the Octagon. Stayed in the annex, which was very spacious and modern. Clean, except for the carpets, which are well overdue for a clean. Comfortable bed and water pressure was average.
Parking was off road,but could be a problem when real busy. Careful parking on the streets, the parking inspectors are vigilant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angel2Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Very surprised to find that this Motel was a good as it was. The thing is, on arrival is looks like a hospital gone student accommodation, but don't leave, its not what is seems. As someone else has mentioned, no views, but the room was enormous including the spa bath and separate shower. Clean, modern, and had plunger coffee. In the centre of town, walking distance to everything we needed and short drive to everything else. The reception ladies were efficient and pleasant, but can't say much more as they left us to ourselves and that was perfectly ok.
We'd go back there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakitaFyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed as a couple, for only one night, but location perfect, close to most attractions, like octagon and the cadbury factory. Rooms cery comfortable and clean. No street noise which was a bonus for where it was located. Friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dale m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 km away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.5 km away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 km away
Motel on Carroll
Motel on Carroll
#50 of 57 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Quest Dunedin
Quest Dunedin
#40 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.1 km away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.2 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#38 of 57 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 97 Motel Moray? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 97 Motel Moray

Property: 97 Motel Moray
Address: 97 Moray Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,464 - ₹ 7,602
Hotel Class:3 star — 97 Motel Moray 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience.....Comfort.....Affordability. 97 Motel Moray is the closest motel complex to the Octagon, the centre of Dunedin City, surrounded by great city shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your 97 Motel Moray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
97 Motel Moray Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing