We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy and odd shaped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“noisy and odd shaped”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The hotel is well located near many of the main attractions, such as they are, in Dunedin. The service was excellent - but sadly the room was very noisy - the hotel also appears to be near both a hospital and a fire station. The room was a long rectangle with two queen beds separated by a side table with an alarm clock. There was no bedside lamp for either bed but they did supply one on request. The fridge in the kitchen section of the rectangle was very loud and quite a distraction. The TV was large and the channels clear - this is mentioned because we struggled to get clear reception in many of the hotels we stayed in. The shower was of a decent size but he toiletries consisted of sachets.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leoric912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    91
    44
    12
    2
See reviews for
72
83
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The Victoria's well-sited on the corner of Cumberland (SH1) and St Andrews St and you might expect it to be noisey. However, the room was relatively quiet and perfectly fine for my needs, if a little bland in its furnishings. The bed was comfortable, the batheroom worked well and the internet, while expensive at $25/day, connected and was reliable. Not much space to put clothes (I like to unpack the bag entirely even if it's just for a couple of nights) but apart from that, the price was ok and represented good value for money.

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms seem quieter but it's all much of a muchness really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We arrived to a friendly welcome and and no carparks but friendly staff made room for three cars for the night. we had three room booked for the weekend and arrived in tho them after a long drive and found them clean and tidy a little dated but they tell me that the management are slowly working their way through the rooms. For the price we paid we were very happy great location great breakfast in the morning and the friendly staff

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LHotel175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Lovely family room in a really good location. Clean, well appointed and the spa was great. Highly recommend value for money

Room Tip: Close to Cadbury World and walking distance to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I live in Dunedin so don't often get to stay in local hotels but it snowed and I left it too late to get home. The Victoria was about the cheapest last minute place so I thought I'd give it a go. The place seemed to be deserted - I only ever saw the two reception staff, no other guests. The room has evidently been recently refurbished and was fairly large, with two double beds. The one I slept in was particularly comfortable. The best thing about the hotel is its location - close to the Octagon for dinner and to the University for work.

The one slight black mark was the furniture: the room was quite wide to accommodate the two beds, with the flatscreen TV on the wall, facing the beds but halfway between them. Good if both beds are occupied I guess but not optimal viewing if there's just one of you using the room. This would have been solved by having a chair or two between the beds (there was room) but the only chair was a single wooden kitchen chair.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#41 of 61 in Dunedin
385 reviews
0.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
760 reviews
0.8 km away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#23 of 61 in Dunedin
171 reviews
0.8 km away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.0 km away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Property: The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Address: 137 St Andrew Street | PO Box 5737, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,266 - ₹ 9,889
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Victoria Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia ora, Welcome to the Victoria Hotel Dunedin. Our hotel is located in the heart of Central Dunedin, minutes walk away from the city's attractions, shops and businesses. At the Victoria Hotel you can expect a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and an excellent location. We take pride in the level of service we offer and are dedicated to going the extra mile for our guests. Our reception desk is open 24/7. When you come to stay at The Victoria Hotel you have two restaurants to choose from, both of which offer room service at no extra cost. You can also relax in our Lounge Bar and make use of the Wi-fi we offer in the bar area free of charge. For modern New Zealand cuisine, you can come to our Well Manor restaurant for Breakfast between 7-10am and Dinner from 6-8pm 7 days a week, or you may like to spice it up with some Flame Grilled Peri-Peri Chicken at our Nando's Restaurant from 11am-9pm every day. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Victoria Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunedin
Dunedin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing