We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DUD Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Veracruz,Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“DUD Hotel”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Good location, the rooms and appearance little old, the service was perfect.
The managers were very helpful .
Hospitality excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Gerardo A,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your kind comments about our service and our Managers. In relation to the appearance of the rooms being a little old, I am happy to advise that we will shortly be installing brand new 42 inch TV's, and also a complete new triple-sheeting bedding system which includes goose-feather underlays and toppers - they are likened to "sleeping on a cloud". Thank you once again and we hope to be able to host you again in the future.

Kind regards

Greg Hewland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    331
    106
    22
    14
See reviews for
124
293
38
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I hate writing bad reviews, but felt I had to with this one... Terribly dissapointed with this hotel. Incredibly difficult to find hotel, especially when half of town if cornered off for parade. No parking (unless you count valet at extra cost!) not even to unload bags. Uncaring staff at reception in regards to parking and off-loading baggage. I have two small children, and an awful lot of baggage between my family of four. We were offered no assistance to remove bags from car or to take to room. The valet was rude and impatient. Could not wait to get out of there the next day. Definitely put a downer on the trip. Possibly better suited to business type and child-free guests :(

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank got_the_travel_bug82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear got_the_travel_bug82,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very sorry that half the town was blocked off and this made it difficult for you to locate us on the main street - this situation is out of our control. And again apologies that our valet carparking service did not live up to your expectations - we often get very good comments about our valet carparking service and reasonable cost of $11.50 per day in an inner city location, but it appears that we have let you down in regards to the service on this occasion. There is a 5 minute drop-off zone at the south end of the hotel directly around the corner on Dowling Street for unloading baggage - although if you did not drive to that end of the hotel I can understand that you might not see that - so apologies that was not immediately visible to you.

Kind regards Greg Hewland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed two nights over the weekend at this hotel which is in a great location. Our room was on the 7th floor of this 8 storey building, but the noise from outside was terrible, with rowdy revellers shouting in the street until it came light both nights. The traffic noise is constantly very audible too. I shudder to think what the noise is like on the lower floors. Sound insulation and double glazing would be a great investment.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianwellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear IanWellington,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We do apologise that you experienced loud street and traffic noise during your weekend stay with us. I note that you mention double glazing would be beneficial - in fact we do have double glazing on the street side from levels 1 - 5 inclusive, and the brand new Executive rooms on level 8, but regrettably at time of building hotel, it was deemed that levels 6 and 7 on the street side would be high enough that street and traffic noise would not affect guests sleep - it appears that this is not correct in all situations - so we do apologise - for anyone reading this response may I add that this loud street noise does not happen all the time, and if it does it is usually only on Fri and Sat nights - and as I have mentioned above other levels on the street side do have double-glazed windows. Of course the higher up rooms on levels 6 and 7 have amazing views....

Kind regards Greg Hewland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We spent two nights here on a "round the south island" self drive tour.
The food was great, the beds comfortable and the shower superb. Staff were most helpful.
Recommended. The Black Dog Restaurant next door has very good food - only complaint is too much.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Roger 542,

Thank you so much for kind words and we look forward to possibly hosting you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards Greg Hewland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This hotel is is a great position; short walk to the Octagon. The rooms are large and clean.
Downside - Have to pay for parking and internet. Even though on a high floor, there was a lot of traffic noise. Also the noise from adjacent rooms, made it difficault to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angel2Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear angel@Australia,

Thank you so much for your feedback - it is much appreciated that you make good comments about our location and size of rooms - thank you. In regards to the Internet price - I am sorry this did not meet your needs - I am happy to say that our price used to be $29.90 for 24 hours and had a capped MB limit, and that recently we changed to $10 for 24 hours - uncapped MB limit - so that positive change is meeting most of our guests expectations. In regards to the parking charge - again I am sorry that our daily charge ($11.50 incl tax) did not meet your requirments - being an inner city hotel we have to pay to lease other carparks as well as the ones we have on site, plus we also valet carpark, and so the carpark charge is necessary in order to be able to provide this service - FYI we do get many guests commenting that our carparking charge for an inner city hotel is very reasonable, and some others that do not agree - so both up and down on this comment.

Kind regards, Greg Hewland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.4 km away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.2 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
9.8 km away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
626 reviews
0.3 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#41 of 61 in Dunedin
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,931 - ₹ 19,204
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing