We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 1:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Dunedin's abundant history comes alive

There really is something a bit special about how owner/operator Mark operates his tours of... read more

Reviewed 14 July 2018
hammersports
,
Tauranga, New Zealand
Fun, informative, interesting day

We booked this tour independently ,after a recommendation from family, while on a NZ cruise. The... read more

Reviewed 2 May 2018
Ray L
,
Yarra Valley, Australia
Read all 31 reviews
  
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
23
7
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
7
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews booked this tour expert knowledge information centre great tour cruise ship new zealand railway station jokes mark tomb operator cruisers overview pier uni sights tours
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2018

The owner/operator Mark was very knowledgeable and provided insightful running commentary on the drive out to the Castle. The commentary was also delivered in an entertaining manner which keeps people engaged.

You'd benefit from a smaller group (and greater interaction that comes from it), and you'd enjoy the Tour of the Castle more with someone like Mark, as there are a lot of features.

Thank JordanN964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlowWormGuy, Owner at The Castle Cruiser, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thanks for the positive review Jordan. Happy to have made your day in Dunedin a good one. I hope work wasn't too onerous once you got back there. Cheers Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Shortish cruise ship port tour booked through NZ Tourist info on the pier at our Dunedin stop on NCL xmas tour. Our tour was pretty popular so the main operator Mark organised a second mini-van to cater for the numbers. Got to say probably could have been a little better organised at the start re some minor confusion with buses and customers but got sorted out.
Mark the main guide (offsider John) is a real CARD - he certainly makes his tour interesting especially for the Aussies on board and doesn't let any opportunity slide to give us a serve - especially over the Rugby. A little shyer with the Soccer/cricket though. Lots of banter and all good natured so be warned and expect a few Bouncers if your from OZ.
Mark has an incredible knowledge of the area and in particular the history of Larnach Castle the main stop and truly makes the visit to the castle much more interesting and worthwhile. He also make some other interesting stops on the tour, Larnach Grave, Dunedin Railway Station, Dunedin Uni campus and the world steepest residential street.
He throws out a lot of so-so quibs and jokes a lot of which may go over a lot of tourist's heads (unless your a Kiwi or Aussie).
Thoroughly enjoyable few hours in Dunedin.

1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlowWormGuy, Owner at The Castle Cruiser, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

If only the American family had gone to the right vehicle and refused to move then maybe, just maybe, things might have started a bit different? Apologies for that. Glad you saw past that though and enjoyed your day. I hope the rest of your trip went well and that Frank and Gail kept you and Christina under control for the rest of the cruise. Kindest regards Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Having visited Dunedin previously, we were unsure how to occupy our day (we were on a cruise ship). We booked this tour on the pier.
A fabulous tour. Mark was very entertaining and had a incredible knowledge of his hometown.
We saw all the sights, and, of course that "awesome" Larnach Castle.
The tour base was a Toyota Coaster that had been converted for luxury touring allowing plenty of room and a an more intermit atmosphere.
You need a sense of humour, but any comments made by Mark were in good fun.
This tour is great value (includes the entrance fee to the castle) and great fun.
Highly recommended.

1  Thank Greebo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlowWormGuy, Owner at The Castle Cruiser, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you very much for the glowing review, Very humbling.
Checking out your other review I thought you might have had The Castle Cruiser confused with your Napier tour.
I trust the rest of your cruise went well. If you are ever back in NZ look me up. I might even have a spare sheet of sandpaper you can borrow!
Kindest regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The Castle Cruise was a great way to see Dunedin in a limited time. The highlight of the tour was Larnach Castle. Mark knows the castle well and was an excellent guide. We also saw the historic train station, the world's steepest street, and an overview of the city. We only had seven people on the tour, so it was not crowed. Mark joked with the Australians on the tour, but they seemed to take it well. He also had a few jabs for us Americans.

1  Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlowWormGuy, Owner at The Castle Cruiser, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Hi Bill,
Thank you for the great review. Sorry I have taken so long to acknowledge it.
I am glad you enjoyed your day in Dunedin and aboard The Castle Cruiser,.
In regards the jabs, I am an equal opportunites jabber - Just saying! lol
Travel safe and take care.
Kindest regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We found the tour information at the i-site in Dunedin. The value was there so we booked it early. There were only 4 people on our tour and was remarkably cheaper and less crowded than the cruise ship's tour.

The tour guide isn't very politically correct but it is all intended in good humour and fun. If you can't have a laugh at yourself, definitely not the tour for you.

Mark has extensive knowledge of the castle and the city. He can offer you a truly remarkable experience and his bus is very comfortable for a mini-bus. He comes highly recommended for anyone who wants to learn about Larnach castle and the city of Dunedin.

Thank you Mark. Your tour was certainly a highlight of our cruise.

Regards
The honeymooning Hintons

Thank Ace37492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews