We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly awesome environment - highly recommended.”
other traveller has booked this property
Cascade Creek Retreat at dusk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cascade Creek Retreat at dusk
Enjoying the beautiful evening at Cascade Crek Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Cascade Creek Retreat at dusk
Enjoying the beautiful evening at Cascade Crek Retreat
Enjoy a unique and wonderful experiene in the teaming hot outdoor bath
Completely private and secluded
Downstairs bedroom
Breakfast in the sun on the deck
Beautiful walks to explore from  the Retreats door step
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dunedin, Otago Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MamoC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truly awesome environment - highly recommended.”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent four nights at this gorgeous log cabin in a valley of birdsong. Very few places in NZ that such an experience can be had. The rainy day had us curled up with books in front of the log fire - the next day brilliant and sunny we sat outside and marvelled at the beauty that surrounded us and the birdsong that echoed around all day. An inspired idea to create this special place on their farm. Highly recommended very special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael w
beijing
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a little taste of luxury in a little slice of paradise”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Staying 3 nights in the lovely cabin truly is the high light of our travel to NZ. The moment i stepped on the deck of the cabin i felt like everything i saw from the picture before i made the reservation became real and whats even better is i could finally experience the idea of "home away from home". its definitely hands down the best place i have ever stayed.
What we never expected is the owner came by with a plate of home made cookie to see if we were comfortable and warm as it snowed in the morning. i am saying could you guys be any more thoughtful for your guests?
I'd love to come back to the lovely cabin one day. The only thing i am hoping is it can be longer than 3 nights. Thank you Janene and Dave you really made our travel wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
It was such a pleasure to meet you all and we are very happy you got to experience Cascade Creek Retreat in such a beautiful snowy "winter wonderland!" Thank you very much for your review and we are so pleased we could provide such a highlight on your NZ holiday. We do look forward to seeing you back here one day!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reganmcla...
1 review
“Most amazing place ever!!”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Was so amazing peaceful with great views great food and defenatly a great chef It was honestly the best place I could have chosen for mine and my partners one year aneversary the private cabin with the big stone open fire made for the most romantic evenings I will be bringing my partner back every year

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Cascade Creek Retreat is such a wonderful place to enjoy a romantic getaway, especially something as special as your 1st Anniversary. The combination you mentioned of the stunning views, absolute privacy, large roaring open fire and delicious options of our Chefs gourmet baskets as well as the unique “Dinner In Experience” make for such a memorable special experience. What a wonderful idea to have started a tradition for your both to come back and enjoy everything Cascade Creek Retreat has to offer every year! We look forward to having you stay again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L M
Otago Region, New Zealand
1 review
“The solitude and tranquility were unbeatable”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

An wonderfully secluded place to get away from everything for a while. The facilities were impeccable, and the special touches around the cabin were gorgeous - especially the home-knitted slippers. The birdsong was absolutely beautiful. The starlit outdoor bath topped it off! We honestly didn't want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The solitude
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at Cascade Creek Retreat! Once you arrive, it is a very easy place to truly relax and turn off from the rest of the world… but it is very hard to leave again!! The lovely native bush surrounding the Retreat is a haven for the birdsong you mentioned, and it is such a treat to hear and see the beautiful native birds so close by. The outdoor baths are always popular with our guests and with the total privacy and serenity that Cascade Creek Retreat offers, you are able to enjoy them undisturbed and truly take in the beautiful surrounds. We are very happy you enjoyed your time away at Cascade Creek and the opportunity to ‘get away from it all’ for a while.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofi_trav...
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“my most favourite place on earth”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The resort is an incredible combination of luxury and wilderness. Its one of the most remote places I have ever stayed but the hosts are immeasurably great at thinking of your every need. the detail and love put into this place is quite incredible. You can feel it when you stay here and that alone makes the stay memorable. It truly is my favourite place.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. As you aptly describe, it is a definite ‘off the beaten path’ experience- Cascade Creek is a hidden gem, which many of our guests describe as one of the many enjoyable and stand out aspects of the Retreat. We love ensuring our guests enjoy ‘home away from home’ experience… while also enjoying the rustic luxury that Cascade Creek Retreat offers. A truly unique place like no other, it is easy to become a ‘favourite place’ for guests… it really is a little taste of luxury in a little slice of paradise’… and it is still our favourite spot too!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing