We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed here March 2012 (couple from Australia). The Victorian room we stayed in was magnificent - very tall ceiling, old world charm, king size (and comfortable) bed etc. Breakfast was basically toast and cereal self-serve but perfectly fine. Price wise this place was good when we compared it to other like options - particularly this close to the "Octagon" town centre. Laundry and internet was free (major point of difference with every other place we stayed in during NZ). Definitely recommended and we would definitely stay here again. They also have a video library (also free) which we took advantage of during our stay. Oh and for any fitness people out there, there is a gym just down View St (about 200m from the B&B).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    52
    27
    15
    13
See reviews for
9
68
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Delightful experience. Home like, pantry was open all the time. great breakfast selection! Nice personal touch with cats

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joarcsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

It's a very old house, it was not very clean, when I arrived, my room should be in the souterrain ("it's a bit shady") and it's more like a backpacker location, with many stairs; some drug addicted people on the street (which I heard later is like that in this part, even there is a school at the opposite side). I booked 3 nights, but I didn't want to stay, so we could arrange, that I just payed one half night; that was ok. But for 140 Z$ for a singleroom it is defintily much too expensiv. From the internet-fotos I expected something better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagmar246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The B&B was fine and very well placed in the town center. The owner is a very nice young lady.
They have a lot of facilities and try to balance the fact that it is obviously an old house.
The wifi connection is available throughout the houses, but in one of those the signal is off and you can't access.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

This is not as described in any literature. It is two houses with no 'hosts' as such. The host when we stayed was one student, who was very pleasant but obviously was worked to the limit and had no experience in the hospitality industry.
The rooms resembled a 1970s student hostel. Dark red and white walls, a rubber plant (dusty) and stained and marked old student furniture. Navy blue sheets and a old faux fur pillow did not help. (see photos). The lid to the kettle did not close, there were wine glasses - but no water glasses - but there were lollipops on the bed - why? The wallpaper was falling off the ceiling. This was the 'Turret room'.
We were greeted pleasantly - but enquiries about the advertised laundry revealed that it was not a guest laundry - it was the hostel's laundry and all the machines were busy doing the sheets and towels - which she later ironed in the 'drawing room/breakfast room'. She was still on duty, alone, the following morning when we checked out - stripping the beds and taking payments. I thought that bed and breakfast establishments were in people's homes - this is not a home.
'Breakfast' was thrown on the sideboard, plastic bags of cheap bread and a toaster. Not enhanced by the two older ladies who came down to breakfast in their nightdresses!
I agree with the two negative reviews below - the Adams family would feel at home.
Others should not stay here.
I suspect that by registering as a B&B not as a hotel or hostel the owner avoids some sort of registration or inspection - there no was on earth this should be classified as a B&B!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank commontouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 km away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#29 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.6 km away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#36 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.9 km away
Highbrae Guesthouse
Highbrae Guesthouse
#18 of 63 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.8 km away
315 Euro Motel
315 Euro Motel
#13 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast
Address: 52 Tennyson Street | Central, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,796 - ₹ 7,655
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hulmes Court, two historic homes next door to each other a few minutes walk from the visitor centre. Norman owns an advertising company, is interested in history, philosophy, geography and stood for parliament twice and is well travelled. However, Norman at 37 and his staff (local university students) are youthful, intelligent, educated and friendly. We have a cool black cat called solstice. Plus you have free use of our internet, laundry, off street parking and mountain bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hulmes Court Hotel Dunedin
Hulmes Court b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing