We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed here in a family group of 18 to celebrate mid winter Xmas and it was a great place for us all. We also hired a conference room which had great view over city. Nice and central to the inner city and great price. The staff we encountered were really friendly, thanks for a great weekend

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaSoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank-you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. We definitly value all comments both negative and positive and on this occassion we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 327 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

Lovely accommodation and lovely staff...will definitely stay there again! Very central to everything and within nice walking distance. Rooms were always clean and comfortable!
Was able to get room on your $67 a night deal - was great!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew708, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Thank you for your Feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin next time you are in the South Isalnd. I am glad that you found the Team great as we try our best at all times to exceed guest expectations and add the personnal touch.

Regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Can do with some new tv's. But great in most aspects

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew708, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in most aspects. I will pass on your comeents regarding the TV's. We are currnetly completing a soft Refurbishmant of the hotel and the upgrade of TV's is part of the Refurbishment plan. We hope to welcome youback to the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin on your next trip South.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We had a great stay they threw in a upgrade. We stay here whenever in Dunedin. The rooms are basic but comfortable, quiet enough for a good nights sleep. Location is great being central. They have regular specials that are great value for money - check out their website.

Room Tip: check out their website for specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wassil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew708, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Thank-you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin and your continued patronage with us during your visits to Dunedin. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kiinggstae Hotel on your next visit to Dunedin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

1 night I slept in this hotel and got no complaint. Average room, average breakfast, small lobby, old lift, no free wifi internet access.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexSantosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew708, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you Alex for your comments. We are pleased to hear you had no complaints regarding your recent stay at Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin. We hope we can welcome you back to the Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin one day. Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 km away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.6 km away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 km away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#19 of 61 in Dunedin
288 reviews
9.9 km away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
653 reviews
2.1 km away
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin

Address: 10 Smith Street, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: ₹ 5,293 - ₹ 9,056 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing