We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beechwood Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beechwood Motel
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
West Eyreton
1 review
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Great location easy walk to university, gardens, supermarket, shops. Very welcoming and accomodating for a budget conscious family. Kids loved the wide range of DVDs available to borrow.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    72
    13
    9
    0
See reviews for
65
45
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Great location, handy to all city attractions within walking distance. Great dairy down the road,
The Rob Roy, ice creams are heaven!. The owners went out of their way to explain the city attractions and were very warm and gracious. Yes, I wil stay there again in the future and recommend them to my friends.

Room Tip: I stayed in the studio on the top floor. It is large and gets the sun shine, and is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trish t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire , England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Its a shame that i wasn't blown away by this place, it is in an ideal location, only 10 minutes walk from the Octagon and ideal to drive to various local attractions, but it just felt like it was a bit - average, although the price is reasonable.
The owners are lovely and really helpful but the rooms just felt a bit less than they could have been, no toiletries (I know I know, minor point but you notice these things when you're staying in loads of different places), our room was right at the end, next to the road which was a bit noisy and it just didn't feel that special. However this is a good mid-budget place to stay, great location is right, i just don't think i'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnOwens, Owner at Beechwood Motel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thanks for your feedback.

Because we are eco friendly, we have dispensed with the usual toiletries that cause waste and disposal problems and have replaced them with an all-in-one shampoo and body wash. However we do still provide cotton wool balls, plasters and ear cleaners.

The room you booked was our tiny budget unit. This is, as we say on our website, ideal for those travelling on a budget - as is reflected in the budget tariff. All of our other units are much more spacious than this and we are sure that you would love them.

As you so kindly say, our setting is ideal and the welcome is warm. We would love to see you back again. Please contact us in advance so that we can help you choose a unit that will completely meet your needs.

Regards
Pam & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

we spent 2 nights at Tourist Court Cottages. Impeccably clean. Nice and spacious. The owners were very pleasant and helpful. I will recommend this Motel to others and will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 62coyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I was down in Dunedin for Business and my two girlfriends came along to experience Dunedin. We had such a wonderful time at the motel. The owners went above and beyond to make our experience as pleasant as possible. The owner was so sweet showing us all the sights and activities on a map when we arrived. I was very happy to have picked this motel and will recommend it to anyone heading that way. If you want to stay with people that really care about you and your holiday this is the place! Coming from the industry myself I can say that there are few people as helpful and friendly as John and Pam. It is great to see that some people understand that customer service is the key to being a good accommodation provider. Also, the room was spotless and very modern. All the way to the house keeper smiling and helping us when we forgot the key, this motel was a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Poppy room, which has a great modern style. The outdoor area in front of the room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NKuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.2 km away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 km away
Commodore Motel
Commodore Motel
#36 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 km away
ASURE 755 Regal Court Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#25 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.7 km away
Aria on Bank
Aria on Bank
#5 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 km away
Owens Motel
Owens Motel
#48 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Motel

Property: Beechwood Motel
Address: 842 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#21 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,268 - ₹ 9,594
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beechwood Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Central Motel Accommodation in Dunedin Over the winter of 2016 Beechwood Motel has been closed while it has undergone a major refurbishment inside and out. Beechwood now features fully lined, insulated, double glazed and air-conditioned units,with unlimited high pressure hot water and underfloor heating. The units have been fully interior designed and refurbished to the highest standard. Beechwood is reopening in November 2016. In a boutique setting of 10 units Beechwood offers quiet, quality, spacious, self-catering accommodation only 5 - 10 minutes walk from the centre of Dunedin. Each of the rooms includes Guest Select Sky 50+TV Channel and full kitchen or kitchenette depending on your requirements. Beechwood also features free, ultra-fast WiFi access. Free on-site car parking right beside your unit, and a guest laundry are also provided. The motel is situated on George Street, within the North Dunedin Heritage Precinct, a designated special character area. The location is a great choice for travellers interested in all of Dunedin's main attractions. The botanical gardens are a short walk away, as is the University of Otago, Otago Museum, Dunedin Railway Station and a number of quality restaurants, cafes and shops. We pride ourselves on providing excellent value in the most sought after area of the city for visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Beechwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Court Cottages Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing