We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First rate B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porterfields Bed And Breakfast

Porterfields Bed And Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Porterfields Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #51 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First rate B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in February and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hosts are very welcoming and friendly, and provide you with lots of good information about the surrounding area
We had to switch rooms, and found both very comfortable.
Breakfast, at the dining room table with the other guests (with Neil making the fresh coffee) is excellent. Neil & Susan are well travelled and have lots of stories to share.
Location, on the Otago peninsula, is very good. Ten minutes drive fom Dunedin and within 10 - 20 minutes of the places to visit on the peninsula.
There is no restaurant in Macandrew Bay in the evening, but the pub at Portobello along the road serves very good bar meals, and is a lively place which seems to be well used by the locals.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fin044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freising, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed for two nights and just loved it. Neil and Susan are incredible hosts and we had a lot of very interesting conversations. We had a very spacy bedroom with a most comfortable large bed and a great view. The very clean bathroom is ensuite and there are tea and coffee making facilities on the landing. Free wireless is available. Neil had a lot of good tips where to go and we went to see the royal albatross colony and booked a cruise on the Monarch where we got really lucky because we got to see a lot of wildlife in just two hours. We will certainly come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

This is a delightful bed-and-breakfast located on the beautiful Otago peninsula. We stayed three nights earler this year and were made very welcome by our hosts Neil and Susan. In fact, our stay was more like visiting old friends, even though this was the first time we had visited the area. We had the larger of the two bed-rooms, with a fantastic view over the bays and a to-die-for extra large bed. The hearty breakfasts were varied and gave us a good start to the day. A visit to nearby Sand Fly Bay is a must, but do find the "easy" route down (and back). My wife is still recovering from the climb back up to the car!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenLynne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed at Porterfields for 2 nights in April and we really loved it. The hosts Susan and Neil are lovely. Our room upstairs was well-kept with en suite and separate entrance. Everything was well-kept and clean. We loved it to chat with Susan and Neil with a cup of tea in their living room. They are experienced travellers as well and we loved to listen to their the impressions from eastern Europe.

All around a perfect stay to visit the Otago Peninsula and Dunedin.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

Our hosts were fantastic and their B&B very comfy - could not recommend it more!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmcallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.9 km away
Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
2.1 km away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
2.5 km away
Chy-an-Dowr / Rosemary Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Arts Content Bed and Breakfast
4.4 km away
Captain Eady's Lookout
Captain Eady's Lookout
#26 of 63 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
8.9 km away
Kaimata Retreat
Kaimata Retreat
#13 of 63 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porterfields Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porterfields Bed And Breakfast

Property: Porterfields Bed And Breakfast
Address: 30 Porterfield Street | Macandrew bay, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,760 - ₹ 7,789
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing