We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average, good value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Owens Motel

Owens Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Owens Motel
Ranked #51 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Average, good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is an average motel, with decent rooms, clean and tidy and friendly owners/managers.
A good location, George Street, but because it is a couple of hundred meters from the centre, it is quiet. the most noise disturbance comes actually from the inside. The walls and ceilings must be paper thin as you can hear standard sound level conversations from neighbouring rooms. On both nights we stayed, we could hear the talking. The second night, a lady guest nagging all evening/night to her partner/husband until he exclaimed, I have had enough and may have slept on the sofa in the living room. If it was not for that disturbance, I would have given the motel a "very good" because of the good value for money and the cleanliness as well as location.

Room Tip: Ask for a soundproof room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    19
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
14
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Owen's Motel, very friendly and helpful hosts, lovely large room with nice decor and good facilities. Good views and sun from our unit and great walking distance into Dunedin. Boutique style Motel which makes you want to stay longer!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are lovely and spacious, get good sunshine and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Pleasantly surprised at the spaciousness of the unit. So clean and tidy and lovely furnishings.
Owners were very helpful. Location is great, so close to university and shopping! We are going to be coming to Dunedin quite frequently this year so are happy to have found somewhere that is good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 05MaryE05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

This is my go to motel when I'm back in my old university town catchin up with friends. You'll never get ripped off at this gaff, which is among the cheapest motels I book all year.

Located on Dunedin's main street, George St, the location is handy enough to town to be able to enjoy a 15-20 minute stroll to plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. Because it is up the north end of town you'll be away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, but beware of the north-end dwelling students who know how to make a racket too!

Room Tip: I like the upstairs units that back on to Regent St
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmycomms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at Owen's. Apartment was huge. Kitchen was basic but adequate. Beautiful views and so close to the city and university. A little noisy as on main street but got used to it after 1 night. Owners very helpful

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5kidsBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 km away
The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
0.3 km away
Allan Court Motel
Allan Court Motel
#28 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.0 km away
ASURE 755 Regal Court Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#26 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.4 km away
George Street Motel Apartments
0.2 km away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owens Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owens Motel

Property: Owens Motel
Address: 745 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,630 - ₹ 7,660
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Owens Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Owens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing