We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely place in Dunedin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Backpackers Dunedin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Central Backpackers Dunedin
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely place in Dunedin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I would definitely recommend that place to anyone looking for a nice and quiet backpacker in town.

I was there for 3 nights last week and I really enjoyed my stay at the central backpacker. I stayed in 2 different rooms and they were both clean and bright.

I loved the cosy and homy living area! It’s a bit weird because it’s dark all day but you don’t usually stay inside a backpacker in day time if it’s sunny outside anyway!

The kitchen was cosy, spacious and well equipped.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
The backpacker is really well located and a supermarket Countdown is located only 2 minutes walk from the backpacker so it’s perfect for groceries!

They have the most adorable cat ever and I am really not agree on a previous feedback saying that the cat’s food was spread everywhere.

The bathroom localization is definitely a bit strange but it won’t be a surprise if you already know about it when you check in at least! I had some problems with the shower temperature during my stay but hopefully they've already fixed the matter.

The free wiffi is great but unfortunately many people stay in front of their laptop all night so it can be quite hard to talk and meet people.

There is a free phone you can use so it’s perfect to book your trip and plan your holidays!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhzvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    30
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
4
17
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

Nice hostel, carpeted which is unusual and makes a luxurious change! As mentioned by other reviewers the bathroom location is slightly odd but not a very big deal. Clean. Friendly staff. My main reason for choosing the hostel was to not have to deal with Dunedin's hilly streets which you are saved with this location: central to shops, restaurants, internet cafes, cinemas, the post office.

Pity the location of the locker in my room was not suitable to the steps to the top bunk - large bruise as a result!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danzy-Eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Excellent hostel. The rooms were very clean and modern.

The location is excellent very close to both the Octagon and the main shopping district.

The only downside was the toilet and shower location; to get to the shower or toilet you had to go through the communal/reception areas. Not really a big deal though.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doras_Eile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Richard was a great help right from the start when I booked a night's stay on 8th August 2011. through an email. He helped me arrange for a half day tour which was the highlight of my stay in Dunedin. The other staff , a lady was equally helpful when I had a problem with a faulty lock on my luggage. The shared bathroom and toilet were clean. My room was comfortably warm and clean as well. Breakfast was easily available a few doors away. I will not hesitate to stay at Central Backapackers Dunedin should I revisit Dunedin.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff6108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Modern and a good place. Dont believe the review saying that the kitchen and baths are a mess. They arent and as critical as I am otherwise, Id say this is good. Unfortunately its popularity also means it's crowded:( which I personally hate

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schumac85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 km away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#14 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.8 km away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#9 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.9 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 km away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#20 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 km away
On Top Backpackers
On Top Backpackers
#4 of 37 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Backpackers Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Backpackers Dunedin

Property: Central Backpackers Dunedin
Address: 243 Moray Place, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Dunedin
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,178 - ₹ 3,403
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of town, Central is minutes walk from most of the attractions, pubs and restaurants in Dunedin! FREE WIFI internet for guests, PlayStation3, Bluray, DVD. Recently renovated with great beds and excellent showers, the friendly local staff are happy to help you with info on the city and its things to see and do. All linen included, complementary tea and coffee, free WIFI available. Relax with a DVD or game in our TV lounge or step outside to explore Dunedin's busy nightlife! Check-in before 9pm, check-out before 10am (unless arranged otherwise). We have a lovely indoor cat, Gizmo :)Minutes walk (within 2-3 blocks, or closer!) from:- Cadbury's Chocolate Factory- Speight's Brewery- The Dunedin Public Art Gallery.- 'Hair Raiser' historical 'ghost' tours- 3 movie theatres- 3 shopping malls, 2 supermarkets- The main strip for Dunedin's pubs and clubs!We are situated on the corner of the main shopping street in Dunedin. Tours to the peninsula leave from outside the Visitor's Centre and Town Hall, just across the street from here. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing